Westin New York Times Square

From the hotel:

The Westin New York at Times Square stands at the crossroads of the world — at the corner of 43rd Street and 8th Avenue. New York City Mayor, Michael Bloomberg, described the hotel as a key component of "the renaissance of the Times Square area." Bloomberg pointed out, the hotel represents "the western edge of the largest urban redevelopment project in New York City's history."



Click here to check prices & availability for Westin New York Times Square.

270 WEST 43RD STREET

Partner Reviews: Westin New York Times Square

Good location but nothing special

Rating: 6

I stayed at The Westin for 3 nights on a recent Christmas vacation. I mainly chose this hotel due to its location to Times Square and my past experiences at a Westin have been good. The hotel is very modern in its decor but the rooms are small in size for the price that you pay. The bathrooms were clean but as one reviewer has already mentioned, the counter space is TINY TINY TINY! The bed was very comfortable and we had a room on floor 36, so was very quiet at night except for occasional siren from a police car or fire truck. The service was ok but I didn't notice them going out of their way for anyone. The best part of this hotel is its location in Times Square, the comfortable bed, and the deli downstairs called The European cafe. This place stayed open 24hrs a day and the food was really good when you needed something quick and not too expensive. Other than that, I might would have chosen another hotel for the price. For 3 nights, two of those being Friday and Saturday, the fee was about $1,400

posted by dentist05 on Dec 31, 2008Read More...

Pretty good, few complaints

Rating: 6

I stayed one night here, and overall was happy with my experience. First, it is pricey, but no more than other NYC 4 star hotels. It was a little odd that the lobby was not on the first level, but no big deal. The staff upon check-in was very friendly and warm. The room was very nice, spacious (again, for a NYC hotel room), the bed was super comfy, very nice flat screen TV. THe bathroom was the worst part. It was clean and nice looking, but the sink area was the tiniest I've ever seen. There was just enough "counter space" for the soap dish and one glass. A woman who has to put on makeup in this bathroom is outta luck! I loved the room-darkening shades, kept it nice and dark in the morning. The front desk doesn't answer the phones at times, getting extra towels was a challenge. And in the room, we could hear the other doors slamming shut down the hall, as well as the elevator bell. Great location for shows and transportation. Always cabs outside. Super pricey restaurant and bar ($14 vodka soda) but all with beautiful decor.

posted by 11222 on Nov 12, 2007Read More...

A little less then expected from a Westin Hotel

Rating: 6

The overall experience was a little less then expected from a Westin. The location in Times Square was convenient (although, beware if you want a good view), the service was good, nothing to expand upon though. The rooms were quite large, the bathroom had all the needed amenities )and I must admit beautiful slate tile) and was also rather roomy. The window seat is a nice touch however BEWARE of the super paper thin walls! We were a party of 4 (older adults) who retired at approximately 1130pm (early for NYC), we were settling in with our evening tea and watching the end of the 11 o'clock news when we received a knock on the door. The Hotel Attendant was a bit apprehensive and felt uncomfortable for having to tell us the room next door had complained because of the noise. Noise? Are you kidding? He apologized and even stated that he had listened for a few minutes before knocking and did not hear anything that would cause someone to complain however he had to notify us. Also, If you use the internet be certain to review your bill. We were there one night and were charged for 4 internet 24 hour services. They did correct the bill immediately and were apologetic. Overall, a good experience just a bit disappointing for such a nice hotel chain.

posted by nhtravlrs on Mar 18, 2007Read More...

A Delightful Surprise

Rating: 10

The last Westin we stayed at was in Vancouver and it was a poor experience in a hotel that needs some work. The Westin in Times Square was a far cry from their sister location. Everything was in excellent shape and for the most part the staff was nice. We had one poor experience but chose not to let it get to us too much. My wife and I are addicted to the W in times square, but they were booked so we chose the Westin and it was every bit as comfortable, just not quite as swank (we love you W!). While we would still choose the W first, this Westin is also top notch.

posted by patmccroch on May 18, 2006Read More...

Hot

Rating: 10

This is a modern, sleek destination in the middle of it all. You've come to expect a Heavenly Bed in Westins but this one has an executive section that has a bit larger room, not a bad deal in Manhattan, and breakfast. The subway underneath it makes low cost transportation easy. Of course there are cabs and town cars aplenty as well. Theaters are all around and there's even convenient pharmacies and outside food sources as well.

posted by biaxinle on Jul 11, 2005Read More...

Incredible!

Rating: 10

Stayed here after checking out of a bad hotel a couple blocks away. The staff was incredibly accomodating (even apologized for the bad hotel). The best hotel staff I've dealt with. We were on the 39th floor overlooking the Hudson. The room was large and the heavenly bed was indeed heavenly. The restaurant was great. I will stay here from now on when I visit NYC. Couldn't find one thing wrong with it. Highly recommend it!

posted by mabjad on Sep 21, 2004Read More...

best location and rooms

Rating: 10

We arrived at 10.30 and were given a very nice corner room on the 37th floor with incredible views over Manhattan, Hudson River, Empire State Bldng, Statue of Liberty etc. Although our booking was for a cluib level room, at check in we they explained that club only goes up to 17 or so floor and we were recommended a higher floor room instead, which of course was the right thing to do. The gym was very good for a hotel, the breakfast at the club lounge aslo good. The room was modern, but felt slightly sterile because of the white everywhere

posted by linasz on Feb 29, 2004Read More...

Good value

Rating: 8

You get what you paid for here. You can spend a little less per night at other hotels in Times Square, but this one gives you good bang for the buck. Heavenly Bed, Heavenly shower, a great gym (comes with a fee for usage), a restaurant and bar on-site. Conveniently located, good A/C and heating unit, quiet rooms, and sound-proofed walls. I recommend this hotel. Only bad thing about this hotel is the front desk never answers the phone. And if you have a cell phone, reception is bad here too.

posted by pikachu on Oct 16, 2003Read More...

great deal, great hotel

Rating: 10

I landed this hotel on hotwire for a very reasonable price (relative to other nyc hotels anyway!)...checkin was the fastest ive ever had, the room was wonderful, the bed truly 'heavenly'...my only complaint - the gentleman from housekeeping who couldn't wait 10 seconds for me to answer the door when he knocked, and proceeded to walk right into the room...otherwise nothing to frown upon - great location, superior amenities, we will be back!

posted by cp48851 on Sep 21, 2003Read More...

Excellent choice!

Rating: 9

Highly recommend this hotel. We stayed here during the Blackout of 2003 and the hotel was VERY accomodating during the entire experience. We could not have asked for better staff and service. The hotel is in a wonderful location and has a beautiful view of the city. Definitely would come back to this hotel!

posted by steffw1 on Sep 2, 2003Read More...

location location location

Rating: 8

This hotel is great, the location is brilliant for a vacation stay, 1 block from Times Square, staff are excellent, can't say enough good things about it! I read so many reviews of different Manhattan hotels and I'm really glad I chose this one - my 7 year old daughter wanted to stay there forever! $207 a night, I probably could have paid less if I'd done some more research.

posted by Annasmom on Jun 21, 2003Read More...

Nice new hotel

Rating: 8

When I stayed here it was still under construction. We awoke to pounding and drilling in the room next door one morning, but it stopped once we notified the front desk. Great service overall--the doormen are especially helpful and friendly. Rooms are small but comfy, with truly heavenly beds and two-headed showers. You can't beat the location if you want to stay in Times Square and the Theater District. It's close to everything, and about two blocks from Restaurant Row.

posted by jennifertom_citysearch on Dec 23, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .