W New York Union Square

From the hotel:

shopping, music art—W New York Union Square's landmark 1911 beaux arts Guardian Life building, re-invented by David Rockwell, has the city at its fingertips. Pete's Tavern and the Village's cozy coffee houses are a walk away.



Click here to check prices & availability for W New York Union Square.

201 PARK AVENUE SOUTH

Partner Reviews: W New York Union Square

Stunning hotel with excellent service in best location

Rating: 10

This is one of my favorite hotels in the world. Not only is it in the perfect location near to great restaurants and easy cab ride everywher...

posted by Citysearch User on Jul 15, 2009Read More...

The W!

Rating: 10

W hotel in Union Square is conveniently located within walking distance of the Village - the eccentricities of the city can be found in the ...

posted by Citysearch User on Oct 8, 2008Read More...

Olives & Bar

Rating: 2

Not having visited the bar, which is the extension of Olives, for over a year, I was back recently. Previously, a trendy kind of crowd that was fun for people watching, it seems to have seriously deteriorated. In fact, the people are rude "young-uns" who will grab your seats, if you don't watch it like a hawk. And my friends and I even were harassed by a "bridges and tunnel" like crowd who thought we took too much space on the sofa. We paid our check and informed the management, but they seemed relatively unwillingly (or afraid?) to do anything. Perhaps we shouldn't have paid our check. Definitely unpleasant for drinks now and shockingly uncouth scene for an extension of Todd English's Olives.

posted by maylee88 on Jul 27, 2007Read More...

Super VIP Service

Rating: 10

Excellent Service and Great Rooms and service Best part was of course the breakfast...... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... .... ....

posted by davidryskiewich on Jul 17, 2007Read More...

I'll be back...

Rating: 8

My work's travel policy states that Starwood properties are the preferred stay. The W Union Square was the most-effective property available and I stayed for 3 nights. Great experience! The room was good sized, spotless and the staff very friendly. The bed was great! More comfortable than any I've ever slept in. Also, nice bar in the basement, Olives restaurant/bar on the 1st floor and 100's of places to experience within walking distance of the lobby. This W would be perfect for both business and vacation travel.

posted by mark on Jun 29, 2007Read More...

W is for WOW

Rating: 10

I recently stayed the W in Union Square and was blown away by the service. From the front door to the guy who checked me in to the lady who cleaned my room, everyone was professional & friendly, but not stiff. The location is perfectly convienient & the hotel itself very stylish, clean and well put together. This hotel has it all. Definetly worth the trip. I'll be back next time I am in NY.

posted by jw8278 on Nov 25, 2006Read More...

Very Good Hotel in Manhattan

Rating: 10

We visited the W Hotel in Union Square in Manhattan. The service was very good and room were excellent.

posted by julietdinkis on Nov 5, 2006Read More...

great look, poor service....

Rating: 8

I've stayed at the W Union Square twice because of the location. On one occasion the manager simply disallowed my reservation because the previous client wouldn't move out of the room? And the hotel was otherwise sold out. Since when does someone else's bad behavior force a guest to move to another hotel? This was very inconvenient... On the second occasion with my family, the concierge TWICE gave incorrect directions ... once to the restaurant and once to city center theater... causing us to be late to the show. I have to agree with the reviews that suggest this is overpriced, superficially stylish but with poor service.

posted by rcgreen on Feb 21, 2006Read More...

Staff is SNOTTY - NOT FRIENDLY OR HELPFUL

Rating: 6

Wow - this is not what you would expect from a W. The staff here is rude, the service sub-par. I expect more for the $429 I paid a night. You are paying for location only.

posted by eurotrash_clothing on Dec 6, 2005Read More...

Wherever whenever?

Rating: 2

I moved from the W time square to the W union square during my business trip to be closer to downtown. Having been serviced by the excellent staff in Tm sq, I was really surprised to be greeted with snooty attitudes and unfriendly faces at this W. Their lack of interest in satisfying their clients is apparent. I only stayed for the convenient location.

posted by chang21 on Aug 26, 2005Read More...

If you love Union Square

Rating: 8

If you spend most of your time 'downtown' while in New York, you could not find a better location than the W Union Square. Excellant subway access, and several great restaurants within a few blocks. The greenmarket is wonderful, especially on Saturday. One word of caution....the closet is tiny! 3 drawers and about 15 inches of hanging space. Otherwise, the room is fine....very comfortable bed and linens, large desk area, overall it's very attractive. (Should be at this price)

posted by megpcamp on May 30, 2005Read More...

Comfortable

Rating: 8

My room during a recent stay here was incredibly comfortable but the room temperature was super cold inspite of my attempts to change the thermostat. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They even told me where to go jogging so that I could see the Statue of Liberty and told me about a great place to eat down the street that was open 24 hours. I wish my bed at home was as soft and fluffy as the bed at the W Hotel.

posted by slhslh on Mar 14, 2005Read More...

Great Service

Rating: 9

I can't remember meeting friendlier and more helpful staff anywhere. Everyone from the doorman, front desk and even a hotel mechanic that we ran into on the elevator was very nice and helpful. The room was very contemporary and surprisingly large ( by Manhattan standards). Great hotel bar. Just wish the bathroom for the lobby bar was more accessable. We usually stay at the Soho Grand but the W Union Square is now at the top of the list.

posted by bobbyct on Jul 13, 2003Read More...

All Image and No Substance

Rating: 6

Reaks of trendy flimsiness, from the "cast" decked out in black, to the "cool" music playing in your room when you arrive. My wife and I spent five nights there in the second largest room size, and they gave as a view of nothing at all. Great place to be, though, if you are a twenty-something, single, with money to burn on image without substance.

posted by tylerknowlton on Apr 24, 2003Read More...

The beds are heavenly

Rating: 9

What a great experience staying at the W Union Square. All the staff/employees were friendly and helpful. the location couldn't be beat. It's only a block from the subway and just north of the Village area. It's a bit expensive for what you get which is the only negative thing I can think to say about this hotel but I would stay there again the next time I'm in the city. In the mornings on the weekend there would be a message on the voicemail with the weather forcast for the day. A very nice touch!!

posted by kaj22 on Apr 16, 2003Read More...

elegant, sleek and sophisticated

Rating: 10

We absolutely loved our stay here. 'W' skips the huge grand lobby and the attitude of other boutique-style hotels and opts for a simply elegant foyer with beautiful finishes - tile, brushed metals, etc. and professional staff. We spent 3 days in the city but never left the 5 block radius of the W Union Sq. Sleeping in their completely soundproof rooms (rare in NY even at the $$$$ places) with luxurious furnishings and amazing beds and linens, and their design-magazine-worthy bathrooms, we didn't want to leave. The union sq market is right in front of the hotel, and countless great restaurants, bars and shopping are a quick walk. You will not be disappointed in this place!!

posted by gothamfoodie on Jan 2, 2003Read More...

Heavenly beds

Rating: 10

I stayed here for 3 nights over Fourth of July weekend and I can not wait to go back. The beds at W hotels are heavenly. The service during our stay was outstanding. The restaurant "Olives" was fabulous. And the Underbar for a drink is a must.

posted by Seektravel on Oct 30, 2002Read More...

F A B O L A !

Rating: 10

The customer service and unusual agreeability of all personnel from front desk to room service - IS: Fabola! Isaac Polanco [sp?] had terrific listening skills. Not to mention great sense of humor. Without ever meeting or speaking before - he advised, guided and took seriously my request about "gift etiquette" when apologizing to one's own clients/relatives [from Las Vegas] when . . . horror of horrors - I found myself having to apologize for having [of all things] ANTS IN MY APARTMENT ! I had to move them fast. Isaac took care of everything. From security to how one apologizes for having ants. . . what does one send? However, I am only giving them a 9 rating because the current rainfall was beyond his ability to alter, fix, repair or stop in anyway. One only has so much control. Thank you Isaac who ever you are.

posted by smess on Oct 13, 2002Read More...

luxe, comfy and great concierge

Rating: 10

My husband and I make a trip here every couple of months and have never had a bad experience. We especially love Lorraine, the concierge, who has always been incredibly helpful and friendly. We wouldn't stay anywhere else - we've tried and we were never as happy as we are at the W.

posted by dhdruyff on Aug 29, 2002Read More...

the only place to stay

Rating: 9

you feel like a movie star when you stay here! i especially love the service and the decor in the guest rooms. I have always been able to find reduced rates on the internet as well. no need to pay full price for the good life!

posted by sfurfey on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

cool whenever more is not expected

Rating: 9

Location excellent, rooms - comfy, bed - divine, water pressure awesome. No DVD players. When asked for, they promise us one. Turns out much later all are "lent out". As for video library turns out to be a problem to see even a list of videos: a huge operation is staged to deliver the list. Since we arrive on our wedding anniversary day, a check-in clerk Ellie upgrades us to a larger room plus promises us a special gift. The upgrade spectacular room is large, but stinks of cigarettes. We settle in a smaller, wonderful room dominated by the bed. Special gift fails to arrive curious as we are. Even when Ellie promises to get it sent to us once again, it fails to arrive. Whatever it was to be wherever it ends up, looks like another special operations force was never there to deliver on it.

posted by linasz on Aug 12, 2002Read More...

W not so hot after all

Rating: 6

In a recent 4 night visit in NY, I was excited to be finally staying in the uber-chic W Hotel in Union Square. While the hotel lives up to it's "cool" reputation (staff all dressed in black, and wearing headsets), and the bed was very comfortable, I wasn't happy at all there. Why..? First of all, call me old-fashioned, but for $300 a night, I expect to have both a bathtub and shower. I was told that I would have to upgrade to a "mega" room for that convenience. The staff was very nice and helpful, but the room I had overlooked Park South, and was NOISY. Music from the clubs & restaurants, laughter, voices... not my idea of a relaxing stay. I checked out one day early and scooted up the The Avalon on 32nd/5th for a King Suite, jacuzzi tub & shower, for $100 less.

posted by tschandl on Jul 28, 2002Read More...

What a Bed

Rating: 9

Very comfortable bed. Outstanding service, no matter what the request. Young feel to the hotel.

posted by nzimmerman on Jul 23, 2002Read More...

Hooked up and & on the list...

Rating: 10

I travel extensively, but have never experienced the level of attention to guest satisfaction that I experienced at the W Union Square. My stay was absolutely perfect. Freddie, our doorman, was a font of information on what was hot and happening around the city. His recommendations never proved wrong, and he made sure we were taken care of at the places he suggested we visit. Lorraine, the concierge, took care of our every need. Lorraine is one of the best concierges around. She is what I refer to as, "Hooked up", which is exactly what you need. I have stayed at many hotel groups who pride themselves on their service--Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, Fairmont, Mandarin Oriental, etc. But the W Union Square beats them all hands down. Since my stay, I have told everyone that there is only one hotel to stay at in New York--The W Union Square.

posted by neophile101 on May 29, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .