W Chicago Lakeshore

Click here to check prices & availability for W Chicago Lakeshore.

644 N Lake Shore Dr

Partner Reviews: W Chicago Lakeshore

High Class Hotel

Rating: 10

This is one of my favorite Hotels to stay at in Chicago The music that is played throughout the building is soothing. It relaxes you as soon as the doors open. The service was great, Ray really came through with stuff to do. Awesome place to stay.

posted by djkk83 on Jan 20, 2009Read More...

nice place, but not the best

Rating: 8

I've stayed at the W and have been there for parties many, many times for work and social. I feel like they are really consistent with their service (overall), but I feel like they hire the best looking people too. Is it just me? My girlfriends and I are obsessed with this one bartender that works there. Also, I think it's a great place to network professionally in the city. I've been in about 4 of their suites and they are nice, but I've been in nicer. Overall, I would recommend this place.

posted by coreypatrickky on Dec 6, 2007Read More...

Trendy

Rating: 10

The hotel is in a perfect location and is the definition of trendy. You feel like a million dollars when you are there, even if it is just for one night. The bar on the top floor is quite small however.

posted by okichich on Nov 20, 2006Read More...

great hotel

Rating: 10

One of the best hotel experiences ever, just love it there, friendly staff, upscale hotel without the stuffiness, great views, and within walking distance to Navy Pier, and other great places

posted by hopobopo on Nov 6, 2006Read More...

Wonderful!

Rating: 10

Expensive=Yes...Worth It=Absolutely....Stayed there 2 nights during my trip to Chicago (should have spent the whole trip there)...The W chain succeeds once again with this oasis on Lake Michigan. The lake view room has quite possibly the best view in the city with perfect views of the sunrise, the lake, and Navy Pier. Friendly, courteous staff caters to every need. Perhaps the most interesting aspect of the room is the bathroom (windows into the room)...strange, but fun...and fun is the word when staying here. Definitely recommended.

posted by mildlyamusing on Jul 10, 2006Read More...

The WORST ever

Rating: 2

Took over 3 hours to check in. The room was crappy. The service was worse. The restaurant is awful. DON"T STAY HERE!!!!!

posted by jimbucks on May 30, 2006Read More...

great customer service for New Years!

Rating: 8

Although the rooms are small, there is a very posh quality to the hotel overall. All yes in answers the consierge and staff enjoy all guests! The rooms are dark, but trendy and the location is three blocks from Michigan Ave. A great enjoyment, but maybe a reduction in price. Fully Staffed and very friendly!

posted by gunge50 on Jan 1, 2006Read More...

Should be call P for pretentious

Rating: 6

Start with a lobby that thumps with techno and a desk that is disguised to look like a bar, follow that with a black on black hallway and paper thin walls. The rooms are dark and sexy but don't bother trying to do work, there are no high wattage bulbs in any of the lamps. Food is poor for Asian but average for a hotel. The rooftop bar is dark and small and has no views....the rooms have better.

posted by biaxinle on Dec 4, 2005Read More...

Hotel of Illusion and Lousy Management

Rating: 4

We just had the worst hotel experiece in years at the W Lakeshore. 1) We ordered room service that was never delivered 2) Hotel has spa listed on Web site and in room materials. Spa is closed for the year! 3) We had a delivery turned away by the hotel - after informing the hotel the delivery would be made 4) No hot water in the morning 5) The keys didn't work for three days straight - kept having to go get another key 6) Movies didn't work 7) One day, they didnt' come make up the room. I should note that we communicated our concern to the management and were offered a complimentary weekend. So we weren't so unhappy in the end.

posted by raven506 on Dec 8, 2004Read More...

Do not Stay Here

Rating: 2

Hipness can not make up for total lack of orgarization and service. Don't rely on reservations or confirmation numbers, as they do not guarantee a room. This hotel will relocate you against your wishes if you are not among the first to check in for the day. Don't be fooled, it has happened more than once, not only in Chicago, but San Diego. Stay away from the pretenders and stay at a hotel which understands the hotel business.

posted by stratton3m on Sep 28, 2004Read More...

Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Rating: 10

What a great hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The beds are out of this world and the best in the business. The food at Wave was good. Spend the extra money to get a lake view. They now have darkening blinds behind the bamboo window treatments to block out the morning light. The color schemes are relaxing and the Living Room is a great place to sit back to relax. The fact that you can take a shower and overlook either the lake or the city is remarkable. I'll stay here again the next time I'm in Chicago. Plus it's only a short walk to either Michigan Avenue or Navy Pier.

posted by kaj22 on Aug 14, 2004Read More...

Must see!

Rating: 10

What a great hotel and so conveniently located to Michigan Avenue, area attractions, and restaurants. It is a must see! We purchased a package that had tickets to the Art Institute included and rented bikes at Navy Pier. The staff was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful. Will definately stay here again!

posted by brobbins on Jun 21, 2004Read More...

A taste of high society

Rating: 8

Spent a Saturday night there with my girlfriend for her birthday. We got the romantic package with rose petals, satin sheets, and Champaign and strawberries. Yes the rooms are small, but not bad. Very clean, great bed. View of Navy Pier. We walk to navy pier in 10 minutes. It did take 3 calls to get our Champaign and strawberries which should have come automatically I was told. They gave us a free bottle of wine for their error. Only bad thing, the street noise of lake shore drive (I was on floor 23) and the air conditioner is very noisy turning on. Food was OK. It's a nice place overall. Impressed my girlfriend. Just overpriced. With parking and dinner it came to over 400 for one night.

posted by fitfreak000 on May 24, 2004Read More...

Fabulous

Rating: 10

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary and everything was fabulous. The room was small; however the set up was great. Wow, what a bed and what a view. We were upgraded to a lakeview on the 28th floor for our anniversary....thank you "W". The location to the Navy Pier, Magnificient Mile, and lake where fantastic. We will return and look forward to it. Thanks again for a wonderful anniversary.

posted by terrie7367 on Oct 24, 2003Read More...

Fabulous in every way

Rating: 10

This is one of my all-time favorite hotels. It's right on the lake and very close to Chicago's shopping & business districts. This W's decor is red & black and features unique lamps, a fainting couch-type chair, Asian-style window blinds and a large, fuzzy, sqare pillow. It also picks up on the lake for its theme -- the edges of the hallways are lined with small rocks. I got a really great price as well, although that might have been the time of year.

posted by susanblue_citysearch on May 16, 2003Read More...

Best Hotel Ever

Rating: 10

I loved it - the staff was courteous and willing to answer my every whim. I would definitely go back.

posted by copie73 on Apr 10, 2003Read More...

LOVED IT!

Rating: 10

I loved it. I was there on Biz and had a great room, great time. uber clean, great views right on river. Gym is good. Spa was good. Food is okay (it's a W), close to Mircle Mile shopping. Great staff. I would recommend thumbs up. Also: check out the bar on roof very very cool!!!!!

posted by kend305 on Feb 27, 2003Read More...

Worth it

Rating: 10

I too have stayed in many hotels the country and the world over; I found the W Lakeshore to be among the best values. The staff was exceptionally helpful, friendly, and not at all arrogant. Wonderful attention to detail - the Welcome Desk staff sent complimentary champagne and strawberries to our room in recognition of our anniversary, and no detail was left undone. Our room was simple and chic. The Whatever/Whenever service was impeccable, as was our dinner at the Wave. Wonderful food, wonderful experience. Stay if you want a getaway, not if you want to be 'in'.

posted by anonymous29 on Feb 24, 2003Read More...

What a SCAM

Rating: 1

I booked a room for one night, New Years Eve, when I went to check-in I was told by the desk clerk, that my reservation MIGHT have been canceled by phone. I did not cancel anything. I was then upgraded to a lakeview room, I thought because of the mistake. When I went to check-out, I was told I would have to pay a 20% early check out fee. It was 11AM, so I asked WHY? I was told I had booked a stay untile Jan 10th, 2003, when I only booked 1 night. How can they say I 1st cancelled this when I was checking in, then allof a sudden I have booked for 10 nights. A 20% early check out fee ould be close to $400...10 nights would be almost $2,000. Never again. No privacy in bathroom. $40 a night to park car too

posted by ChicagoQT on Jan 1, 2003Read More...

Awesome but cramped

Rating: 9

I have been all around the world and this was a memorable experience. The rooms have unique characteristics I have never seen before, ie: peep holes into the bathroom. The qulaity of the furniture is unmatched. The biggest problem is that the rooms are totally taken up by the furniture. There is no space to walk around.

posted by redbrick13 on Nov 4, 2002Read More...

Great

Rating: 7

The location of the hotel is great, within walking distance to the pier and michigan ave. We stayed in a room facing the lake, view was awesome, especially during the fireworks display. Rooms could be more roomier, but the decor is very nice and the bed was very comfortable.

posted by dlw75 on Sep 8, 2002Read More...

souped-up Days Inn

Rating: 3

This building is still the old Day's Inn except now it has a glittery "W" sign and a crowd of wannabes that wouldn't be caught dead in the Day's Inn. Spent $125/person on dinner at Wave and still left hungry because the chef must have thought us to be anorexic. (Since when does "scallops" on the menu mean a single scallop on a teaspoon of mashed potatoes?) Lobby bar service slow--one waitress for the whole place. Whiskey Sky is cramped and tiny. Sure, the hotel is more than just two bars and a restaurant, but let's face it: hotel room coniousseurs don't stay at the W.

posted by adrianjo on Jun 15, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .