Viceroy Santa Monica

Click here to check prices & availability for Viceroy Santa Monica.

1819 Ocean Avenue

Partner Reviews: Viceroy Santa Monica

Worst Boutique hotel!!

Rating: 2

I have stay at many different boutique hotels before, like The Keating at San Diego, Hotel Adagio at San Francisco. At Viceroy, I had the worst experience ever. The interior design in the hotel room is stylish but cheap looking. In our hotel room, we can hear people walking above us, and we can hear people knocking next door and it feels like people are knocking on our hotel room. The bath design is the worst, the shower area is half way cover with glass wall and water were all over the bathroom after shower. There is no plasma TV in the room and if you want to use the internet it?s 99 cents per minute. Overnight parking at Viceroy is $29 per night. For King Size ocean view room is $499 per night over the weekend. My boyfriend and I stayed at Viceroy over the Memorial weekend, you would imagine that ?ocean view? room is next to the ocean and you can get the whole view of the Santa Monica pier?..WRONG. The hotel is not literally ?next? to the beach, through our window we can barely see the ocean and there are other buildings are blocking the view. It doesn?t feel like that we have the ?ocean view? room. If you want to stay at a Boutique hotel, Viceroy is not the hotel that you want to spend $500 per night to stay at. For sure it will be my first time and last time staying at Viceroy.

posted by puddingyy on May 25, 2008Read More...

Comfortable

Rating: 8

The Viceroy is a great place to relax and just hang out! The pool area is calming and peaceful. u can order drinks pull side and just chill. The staff is amazing and very informative! The concierge service rocks and always helpful! I'm treated like a celebrity every time!! Everyone is amazing! The service is great! The hotel is a place to be seen! Its charming and ostentatious without attitude! The Valet is good! The guys really have it together! The rooms are very nice! The shower does leak due to the slight flaw of the glass door ask for two or three towels! loool! but its true! The rooms are comfortable and clean! Many Celebrities hang out or stay at this hotel! Its worth staying and checking it out! I go every summer and its in such a ideal location! live life and go VICEROY SANTA MONICA! Jag

posted by jag98 on Nov 28, 2007Read More...

Overpriced, pretentious, bad drinks, but pretty.

Rating: 4

Once you get past the $16 parking, and equally expensive drinks, it's pretty inside. We went to get together with a friend who got engaged. But one of us couldn't get in. They waited in line outside for an hour and finally left. And the place was more empty than full. Clearly the line was for show. My glasses of mediocre Syrah were $15 bucks a pop, which I had to go inside to get, because the server couldn't be bothered to come by to take our orders. My friend had a $30 mojito. God knows why he ordered it, but it was less than stellar. I suppose he felt he had to because the $15 or so mojitos were awful. If you love pretension and a nice atmosphere, but not too showy, than perfect. Very nice place.... for half the price and if the service was better. All in all, I'll pass in the future. Enjoy. Hope they let you in. P.S., We're not cheap and dress nice. So, it wasn't a place out of our league. I've been to places just as expensive that were worth it. We just found more wrong than right.

posted by tumblebird on Nov 25, 2007Read More...

Tasty snacks, friendly service

Rating: 8

The viceroy lobby bar is a good scene with attractive people but an easy LA vibe. Went on a Friday night and found the cocktail and wine list extensive and their bar appitizer menu will have a little something for everyone. The tuna tartare was fresh, tasty and presente beautifully. The prosciutto puffs were light and heavenly. Arrive early (before 8:30pm) to grab a seat, the bar gets quite crowded after that. Just go and enjoy.

posted by denag on Nov 19, 2007Read More...

Beautiful Decor!

Rating: 10

I love this place! The decor is beautiful. I just want to go back and just sit and lounge and look at the interior and exterior design. Just beautiful. The drinks are somewhat expensive, but I thought the beauty of the place made it worth it.

posted by teddybear67 on Nov 12, 2007Read More...

WOW ! Mind-blowing experience, wonderful!!

Rating: 10

My boyfriend and I tried this hotel for a romantic Valentine's Day weekend, and we were absolutely blown away by the beautiful decor, and fantastic attention to detal. Customer service rocks here. If you want to relax and get pampered, check it out!

posted by briannacantor on Apr 3, 2007Read More...

Well designed with hints of pretension

Rating: 8

Like most Kor properties, the interior & exterior design are stylishly impressive. It's very contemporary. Kudos to KWID. The location is great as well if you're staying the night. There's loads of eye candy here in the bar area. However, if you have a low tolerance for Audis,BMWs, $14 mixed drinks, Dior handbags, and fake tans, then the crowd might make you cringe some. Go early for the design & ambience, and leave when it gets too crowded (weekends).

posted by dogdokken on Dec 28, 2006Read More...

Nice Bar scene, ok rooms.

Rating: 8

The place has a nice bar and outdoor area.. I don't feel like the rooms are special, on the small side and the pool is small, but it does look good at night while sitting at a cabana sipping a drink in the warm summer. Warning - the valet and drinks are not cheap, but the crowd is pretty good.

posted by avanti12 on Nov 13, 2006Read More...

Rooms were a disappointment

Rating: 6

Rooms were pretty cheesy but at least they tried? The pool is very, very small. Staff is cordial and tried hard. Night life here isn't bad. Outside really needs to be redone, it looks pretty bad and cheesy all the more. I wouldn't stay here again. Not worth the price. But locals love it to hang out at in the lobby, which is pretty small.

posted by jval36 on Oct 26, 2006Read More...

CLASSY!!!

Rating: 10

So I have missed the Viceroy's Sunday event 3 weeks in a row! Finally some of my girls got me to go on a day i didn't have to record. They talked about how chill the Sunday parties were with the Live D.J. by the poolside for weeks. So I valet my car..Walk thru the hotel...And around the pool were some of the finest females I'd ever seen in my life! Music was of the chain as I ordered a keylime martini with grahm cracker crust around the rim!..Whoa! I just continued to kick back with my feet up in a soft deck chair while the wind blew! Can't say i would have rather been anywhere else at the time. Everyone else was dancing....Me?....I relaxed and enjoyed the eye candy! The VICEROY WINS HANDS DOWN FOR A MID-DAY PARTY!!!

posted by hornz_halos123 on Sep 6, 2006Read More...

Great local getaway

Rating: 10

Though we live in Toluca Lake we visit the Viceroy once a year on our anniversary . It is absolutely spectacular. Great views, people watching & comforts. We would highly recommend it to all.

posted by robrussell on May 3, 2006Read More...

Upscale Business Traveler

Rating: 10

This is where I choose to stay every time in LA. Small with well appointed rooms - definately THE BEST BED award! Top restaurant and good bar scene. Has everything you want and if you have no reason to be in the city (BH or Downtown) this is a great alternative. You are across the street from the beach and near great shopping. Excellent place to stay if traveling alone - near everything and includes nightlife. Great value for Santa monica "close to beach" hotel.

posted by misso on Jul 30, 2005Read More...

I don't stay here but I love to drink here!!!

Rating: 10

This place has a great night scene...upscale, professional crowd...Good looking people! My favorite place in Santa Monica!

posted by la_native on Apr 20, 2005Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .