The Time Hotel

Click here to check prices & availability for The Time Hotel.

224 W 49th St

Partner Reviews: The Time Hotel

What a disappointment...

Rating: 2

Forget about the fact that the rooms are tiny (even for Times Square), have no dressers, no counter in the bathroom and you don't even have room to turn around in the shower... I'VE NEVER STAYED AT A PLACE WITH MORE PATHETIC SERVICE., and lack of caring about their customers. I felt like I was on Candid Camera. In one room, I had two lights, a TV, a minibar and a most importantly, a thermostat that didn't work. Didn't really care about the lights and the minibar...and it took all day, but they finally fixed the TV. Despite repeated promises, though...could never fix the thermostat and get it below 78-degrees in my room. Even speaking to "the boss" was a complete waste of time. I spoke to the General Manager (Christopher Mallon) who told me that he would make sure the room is fixed immedaitely, told me I would get one of my nights complimentary, told me I would be invited back, etc. He never made good on any of his promises to rectify the situation...and since I left, has never returned a phone call of an e-mail. Needless to say, in 3-days, the room was never fixed, I couldn't switch into another room...and certainly never got the credit that I was promised. Even room service was horrible. It took three calls and 45-minutes to get a bucket of ice, and ordered dinner one night that was cold by the time it got to my room. It was really like a bad joke. There are some great hotels in Times Square. This place isn't one of them...and obviously they don't care about taking care of their customers, either. Simply put...I feel like I was blatantly screwed...then lied to by the General Manager. I hope this review will prevent somebody else from having the same experience I did.

posted by twgator on Apr 9, 2008Read More...

Comfy hotel

Rating: 8

A very comfortable hotel. The linens are really soft. The beds are incredibly comfortable. Even the bathroom is to die for. Be careful stayi...

posted by Citysearch User on Oct 12, 2005Read More...

The Time

Rating: 8

Nice hotel... Right off Times Square. Flat screen TVs and comfortable beds. The staff was very nice and welcoming. No idea how many star...

posted by Citysearch User on Sep 7, 2005Read More...

nice stay 1/14-17

Rating: 8

Was pleased with our stay at this hotel. Great location and great value (we found rates for $149/night!). Given the price and general experience no real complaints. However, don't give 'highly reccomended' feedback based on some fine points. In general, rooms and hallways needs a little updating and refurb $ spent on them. Carpets were a little worn/grungy which is a little gross for nice hotels. Same for window shades, bed spreads etc. All fabrics need a good cleanse and updated. Similarly on the bathroom shelving and other furniture. Needs a good re-do. Again, for up to $200/night no biggie but would be mad if paid more and place was lacking on the fine points. Very cool lobby and bar was hot on Fri night!

posted by veinnabeef on Jan 19, 2005Read More...

Better than expected

Rating: 10

I had already made resevations before reading other reviews. I was actually more impressed with the hotel than I expected to be. Everyone treated us wonderfully and service was efficient and fast. I will stay here again for sure!

posted by dparker on Jul 23, 2004Read More...

Great Room

Rating: 8

This was a super value. The location was perfect for Midtown stay. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean, and the toiletries were super. We had a great stay and would stay there again. We had a queen room and it was a good size for a NYC room. The design is very workable. The only bad thing was the clock radio was missing and we never did get one. The avant garde atmosphere was a nice change from standard hotel stays.

posted by mrsgks on Jun 7, 2004Read More...

Pleasant on all accounts

Rating: 8

Having lived in NYC for two years, I was a bit weary of the place's location right on Times Square. No need! The staff was very accomodating from check in to 6 am check out. The rooms may not be balls out superdesign you find at other boutiques, but all was clean, neat and well kept. And of reasonable size. The bar was quite enjoyable, too. Although it could open a bit longer for my taste. Special mention to the restaurant for food and service.

posted by wilspeed on Mar 9, 2004Read More...

Chic Hotel

Rating: 10

I'd go back in a heartbeat! My fiance and I loved staying at the Time Hotel. Located in the heart of the theater district, we found attractions easy to get to. The hotel's lounge is awesome, and we thought the staff was unbelievably helpful. While our room (blue) was somewhat small, the comfortable bed and trendy decor made up for it.

posted by lbloomer on Feb 23, 2004Read More...

No complaints, quite nice...

Rating: 8

We've stayed in a few boutique hotels in NYC before (we love the Royalton), and my husband in particular has travelled all over the world, and we like the Time quite a bit. Unlike some of the other posters here, we didn't experience any problems with the customer service. The doorman, bellhop, and front desk rep were very accomodating and friendly. The lobby design is interesting and unique. The room (we stayed in a red one) was fun and contemporary but also cozy and romantic. The sheets were a little rough, but other than that, everything was top-notch. The jelly beans and perfume were a cute touch of course. The rooms are on the small side, but that is typical for NYC -- nothing you can do about it. And we had breakfast at Coco Pazzo Teatro downstairs and it was excellent.

posted by spa_girl19 on Feb 16, 2003Read More...

Cute boutique hotel, but...

Rating: 7

my stay was less than stellar. The Time is a trendy boutique hotel with a great location. And the Lounge is a great hotel bar, actually a little too great. My room was on the floor above the lounge and the music and revelry could be heard through the floor. Hipster rooms done in a single primary color even down to the complimentary jellybeans. Would recommend, just request higher floor.

posted by sawgroupie on Dec 15, 2002Read More...

Enjoyable Stay

Rating: 8

I will stay at this hotel again. The room was very nice with a King bed, minibar, desk, fax machine, plenty of space for clothes and a Bose clock radio. Yeah, the matching jelly beans were there too. There was no network connection in the room even though the desk told me there was, so bring your modem. The bar downstairs serves some martini's that go down easy but can push you over the limit quick. Use caution. Nice ambience throughout the hotel and bar. CNN plays from the walls in the hallways. Interesting.

posted by johnb on Jun 14, 2002Read More...

Hipster hotel

Rating: 8

This place has the hipster-hotel thing down in a non-obnoxious way that the Paramount could never understand. Love the jellybean jar that matches the room color! Some of the pricing (drinks at the bar, for instance) is totally outrageous, but you can get a room here for a good price if you work it. The suites and mini-suites are wonderful. It's super-modern and boxy in design, but for those who spend a lot of time in hotels, it's different and sometimes thats all that matters.

posted by JackShay_Citysearch on May 15, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .