The Row NYC

Formerly The Milford Plaza in Times Square.

Click here to check prices & availability for The Row NYC.

700 8th Avenue

Partner Reviews: The Row NYC

Good family hotel

Rating: 8

We love the Milford Plaza hotel. Great location. Good price for New York. Close to Times Square and the theatre district. The flight cre...

posted by Citysearch User on Mar 1, 2010Read More...

Good family hotel

Rating: 8

We love the Milford Plaza hotel. Great location. Good price for New York. Close to Times Square and the theatre district. The flight cre...

posted by Citysearch User on Mar 1, 2010Read More...

Great location and price!

Rating: 8

This may not be the most upscale hotel in NYC, but it sure is a perfect location! It is located within walking distance of Broadway's Theate...

posted by Citysearch User on Oct 9, 2008Read More...

This hotel is terrible

Rating: 2

Upon check in we were told to return after 3:00, as our room wasn't ready. This was acceptable, as the check in time was 3:00. We checked our bags with the Bell Man and went to have some lunch. When we returned at 3:30 we were told that our room wouldn't be ready until 4:00. When we returned we were told 5:00. By this time we were frustrated. A manager was walking by and told the woman to provide us with an available upgrade. When we got up to out floor it smelled of fresh paint. We opened our door to find a room that didn't even match the picture of what we saw on your website. When I called to check on this I was told that this was what we reserved. We weren't even provided an upgrade, but a room that we already booked. The bathroom was so small and the toilet paper holder placed in such a position it was difficult to sit on the commode. There was very little hot water and when we called it in we were told that's they way it works. We spent three days showering with alternating hot and cold running water. It was ridiculous. The remote control to the TV worked sporadically and every time we turned on the TV it was so loud we wouldn't be surprised if they could here it on 8th Avenue. Finally, when we went to the Concierge to find out where the show we had tickets to was playing she sent us to the wrong place multiple times. She was so unfriendly and made us feel like we were interrupting her and asking silly questions. I have travelled a great deal over the years and never have I experiences someone so unwilling to help. One last point. It's great that you have a place to store bags prior to departure, but it is so unorganized that it took thirty minutes for us to get our bags back. There was a line of ten people behind us, and someone that looked like a manager walking in and out offering no assistance. This poor man was there all by himself frazzled.

posted by rixster on May 4, 2008Read More...

Spend more get more elsewhere

Rating: 4

The rooms are very small but that was not a concern. We visit New York City to see the holiday sights, not spend much time in the room. We were not buying the place. This hotel is located in the heart of the theater district and very close to the subway, Port Authority Bus Terminal, local bus stop and cabs. Our assigned room was small and very far away from the elevator bank. Being physically challenged, I was granted a room change without a problem. The pillows were exceptionally soft and practically non-existent. The mattress was also very soft. We thought everything else was fine until we tried to shower the next morning. The shower water stopped running after about 10 seconds. We waited about 2-3 minutes and made a second attempt. Again, we got about 10 seconds. We gave up and sponge bathed. So if you bring your own pillow and don?t need to shower, it?s an OK place to stay. The check out staff was rude and would not listen to our shower/pillow complaint. They would not provide us with a paid receipt.

posted by whrinnj on Dec 25, 2007Read More...

Great location and friendly staff at first, but.....

Rating: 4

This is a place that is saved by it's great location right next to Times Square. I found the lobby area really neat for how small it was. The staff was very helpful at first. But, the rooms were tiny, they were filthy, they were uncomfortable, they and the halls were dark and dingy. And between the time we checked in and checked out a couple of days later, they must have changed the staff, because the new staff was incredibly rude. No thank yous, no yes/no sirs. When I questioned an item on my bill, the clerk at the desk replied "That's what it is." and proceeded to continue with the transaction without answering my question or even acting like it was a concern. For a few extra bucks, stay somewhere else.

posted by boogersnot on Jul 18, 2007Read More...

Average Tourist Hotel

Rating: 4

This hotel is right in the heart of times square, the broadway theatre district, and other tourist delights. The rooms were satisfactory in...

posted by Citysearch User on Jul 21, 2005Read More...

"Queen Sized Bed"

Rating: 2

We didn't expect luxury or a palatial suite, but when we asked and paid for a queen-sized bed, that is what we expected. We got a double-sized bed (and for 2 people who are pretty small, couldn't even move which made for an uncomfortable sleep). Further, we heard the elevators opening and closing all night, and at first it was freezing (slept w/my hat and street clothes and pjs on) and then it was blisteringly hot. After the long check-out line, I tried to explain to the clerk about the bed size, and he basically told me I didn't know what I was talking about. NEVER AGAIN. I will pay the extra $50 to sleep.

posted by vicpsmo on Dec 19, 2004Read More...

Milford Plaza

Rating: 9

It's a beautiful hotel to look at inside. The rooms are alright, the bathrooms a touch small in some rooms, but overall, it was a nice experience. Room service was very quick, and they were quick to bring irons to the rooms and whatnot. Very nice experience.

posted by tom103 on Sep 24, 2003Read More...

It aint such a LullaBUY afterall

Rating: 2

While spending the night on the town with a friend, we decided to stay at the Milford Plaza. Whether it was the 40 minute check -in time, the tiniest room on earth,or the toddler size beds. From start to finish this hotel is a total disaster. Though it swears it is the LULLABUY OF BROADWAY-within the first 15 minutes of my arrival at the hotel-it soon turned into a nightmare. It is in serious need of an upgrade-and perhaps a staff overall-since I was told if I wanted room service I could " head around the corner to the market to meet all my needs." The price may be right, but it would have been worth the extra fifty bucks to stay at a hotel that wouldnt scar me for life!

posted by audge85 on Jun 28, 2003Read More...

Good price and nice rooms but....

Rating: 8

I stayed here on a recent visit, my first time in NY. It was a great hotel and located in a great spot. But yeah, the walls are pretty thin AND its SOOOOO hot in those rooms at night! We ended up kicking off the covers and opening the window. Other than that, if you're gonna be doing a lot of site seeing and not spending a whole lot of time in the room then I definately recommend this place.

posted by warmfuzzies on Jan 29, 2003Read More...

Location, Safety, Comfort & More

Rating: 10

I went this Christmas with my mom. (her 1st time in NYC) and we were on a budget & really wanted to spend our $ shopping & seeing the city. This hotel was awsome! The staff is so attentive and pleasant. Free safe deposit box, 24 hr security, tipical NYC rooms (small) but very comfortable. The subway station is less than 2 blocks away and its one of the main ones (Time Square) speaking of Time Square, its about 4 blocks away. You can't go wrong. The only thing is, DO NOT eat at the restaurant...Celebrity Deli...Celebrity my foot! Poor service, wierd smell, and Rude waiters/cashiers/employees period..It's a shame because the hotel staff goes above & beyond the normal to make sure you are happy. Thank you Milford Plaza for the memories..I will certainly return.

posted by nborelly on Jan 17, 2003Read More...

great location

Rating: 7

this hotel offered a great location, just step outside the door at you at the heart of everything.had to change rooms though. the first one was just so small and none of the lights worked. we were moved without a quibble.

posted by varneytjv on Oct 22, 2002Read More...

Great deal !

Rating: 9

I went to Macworld NY 2002 and I stay in this hotel. Very silent, clean and the staff is very helpfull, I recommend this hotel and I will stay there next time I go to Macworld (2003, I hope). It is at only one block from Times Square and all the theaters. It is on a very safety zone. PD. Very nice city view !!!

posted by mac_os on Aug 12, 2002Read More...

Great Location !

Rating: 9

Spent 4 nights in this hotel right in the heart of the broadway theater disctrict. It was suprisingly nice for the price paid. Very clean, quiet and secure. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice place to stay without paying a fortune in NYC.

posted by danlm on Jul 16, 2002Read More...

Whew! A relief!

Rating: 8

My friend and I made reservations at Milford Plaza due to the economical room rates. After reading tour books and not finding Milford in there at all and reading some of the posts here, I was a bit skeptical. Upon arrival, all was great. Many families. Clean room. Small--but you're only there to sleep, right? Excellent location--equidistant from almost everything in the City. Subway right across the street. Wonderful experience!

posted by aml75 on Jul 2, 2002Read More...

pleasantly surprised

Rating: 10

My wife and I recently stayed at the Milford Plaza June 8-12-2002. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The rooms are not real large but who cares you are not in your room that much. The Housekeeping and Maintenance staff were excellent. The location is great, close to the majority of attractions. The hotel has been remodeled very nice. The rooms are very clean. The bellboy and doorman were very helpful. Thanks for a great stay. We really enjoyed it.

posted by joseph_blank on Jun 14, 2002Read More...

Great location for "Producers"

Rating: 7

Good, economical choice, especially if you want to stay right in the theater area. The room was fairly small, but it was clean. The bathroom needed to be updated, but everything worked fine, and again it was clean. Right across the street from St. James theater, perfect for seeing The Producers or the other shows nearby.

posted by tjebkes on Jun 5, 2002Read More...

User Reviews: The Row NYC


Great fun with family

we stayed for week at The Milford Plaza, its great experience for me and my family. this hotel features newly renovated guest rooms, a fitness center, and ticket services. Rockefeller Center is a short walking distance away.The contemporary locations also involve a work table and wire. Amazing location and affordable price for New york city.

Much fun at great location

The Milford Plaza Hotel - New York is in the heart of NYC, it is true. I Stayed here for a week and found it great value for its location. short walk to Times Square, subway, many theaters, 1 block from NYC's Times Square.

Best NYC Hotel

best in best NYC hotel. other Facilities include Gym, ATM machines, downstairs Irish Pub (Garvey's Pub) and a friendly and helpful Concierge service.

Post a User Review

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .