The Roger

Previously, the Roger Williams. Opening with a brand new look in June 2012.

Click here to check prices & availability for The Roger.

131 Madison Ave

Partner Reviews: The Roger

roger williams

Rating: 10

been there now a few times, and each time have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The second floor lounge provides a nice ambience for a cocktail and light fare, or just to read paper over morning cup of coffee. great location.

posted by dmtlaw on Apr 15, 2010Read More...

The best hotel in Manhattan!

Rating: 10

My Parents & my husband spent 6 nights at the Roger Williams hotel for the holiday season. We were very satisfied & impressed by the location & service. The hotel is located in a very central area and is walking distance from the Empire State Building and the subway station. The front desk people were very helpful and provided accurate information regards dining & shopping options. The hotel has a lovely lounge and was a perfect option for a yummy dinner & a glass of wine before heading out to our evening entertainment. The rooms were very well designed, clean, quiet, and we had a flat screen T.V. All of us enjoyed our stay very much & we would defiantly come back on our next visit to Manhattan.

posted by Kim2010 on Dec 29, 2009Read More...

Lovely for Couples

Rating: 8

Stayed their with my girlfriend. It was lovely, we had a relaxed stay

posted by sisssi on Sep 8, 2009Read More...

Off the beaten path...

Rating: 10

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Roger Williams back in 2006 while celebrating his birthday in New York City. The prices are lower than...

posted by Citysearch User on Aug 26, 2009Read More...

NOT WORTHY

Rating: 2

room is small, dirty The quality of a 3 star hotel

posted by michaela0123 on Jul 31, 2009Read More...

Good Hotel Great Location

Rating: 10

For a NYC Hotel in the Murray Hill section this was a very reasonable priced hotel. Obviously New York hotel rooms are all going to be on the small side, but our room was a decent size for New York, very clean, comfortable bedding and a decent size bathroom w/tub, we even had a small terrace. The staff was fabulous, very helpful and considerate. They welcomed us by name every time we returned to the hotel. The only warning I would give is that the continental breakfast is not free only the papers are, the breakfast is a whopping $20 a person. Other than that it was a great experience staying at this hotel!

posted by spdny317 on Feb 17, 2008Read More...

Great room, comfy bed, nice all-around

Rating: 8

The night we got married, my new husband and I stayed here for a mini-honeymoon (our real honeymoon will be in Europe) and we loved our stay here. Our bed was huge and so comfortable. The room was a really good size, as was the bathroom (our bathroom at home, in Brooklyn is 1/2 the size). The place is beautiful and modern, and the staff treated us like royalty. Great flat screen TV across from the bed...so much fun to watch movies in bed! If they had room service, this would have been perfection, because we were hoping to have breakfast in bed, but there's a decent deli (Tasty Deli) across the street that delivers, so get a menu before you hide away for the night.

posted by verybecca on Sep 15, 2007Read More...

Not so great

Rating: 4

We stayed at Hotel Roger Williams last weekend. The room was Ok, not large at all, but had a nice terrace with a somewhat view of the Empire State Building. The bathroom was small, but clean and no bathtub. Nothing was as glamorous as I first had in mind - nothing was exactly as what it looks on the hotel's website. The room price was fine until we got charged for something from the mini bar that we didn't use, which came to about $30. That's on top of something we had already used, another $30...total of $60 on top of price and taxes! Also, keep in mind the hotel "puts on hold" funds out of your account (if you use debit card) and the funds might not be released until after a few days. We stayed 1 night only, but I had a little over $700 (2 nights stay - not one!!!) taken out of my account, which was explained to me as a "hold". It was literary taken out of my account. I have never seen this happen with other hotels but after I spoke with the manager on sunday evening, she assured me that the problem will be solved the next day. She also said she will take off the second mini bar charge, which was appropriate, but after all, my card was charged separate for it. We will not be back to this hotel.

posted by bonbon2022 on Jul 3, 2007Read More...

Excellent NYC Hotel

Rating: 8

We enjoyed our recent one-night stay. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. I really enjoyed the colorful decor. The room was small - floor pillows instead of a chair - but more than adequate. There was a flat-panel TV mounted on the wall. The bathroom, too, was small but adequate. A little more counter room would have been very helpful. The room was clean. There was a large selection of snacks and amenities in the room for purchase, even an umbrella! The prices were, of course, on the high side, but if you need something in an emergency, it is convenient. The elevators were small and slow, and one of the two was out of order on our second day. The location is great. I would recommend to anyone who wants to stay in that area, and I would go back again when in New York. (My rating is 8.5, though the bar seems to insist on 7.5.)

posted by brandenburg5 on Mar 13, 2007Read More...

Best value?? Cheap??

Rating: 6

No way. There are lots better deals--keep shopping this list or go priceline

posted by wonderwho on Apr 20, 2006Read More...

A nice home away from home.

Rating: 10

I have been staying at this hotel for a year now and every stay is a beautiful one. The staff work very hard to satisfy any request and are enjoyable to talk to. A nice home away from home.

posted by megnick on Jan 21, 2006Read More...

Great Great Great

Rating: 10

The first time i went to nyc i stayed in a national chain hotel which was ok but it wasn't that nyc feeling i was wanting, this summer when i went back i found this wonderful hotel for such a great rate! i was a little leary b/c it was such a great price, but upon my arrival i found that it was worth far more than what i payed. from the bellboy to the maids the place was wonderful, free champagne, balcony, goose down throw comforters, and personally i found the bathrooms very cool and new. the clean look of the brushed aluminum and light pine trim with the white bedding made the room very bright and it looked very very clean! please take my advice and stay in this hotel!

posted by tbspivy08 on Feb 10, 2004Read More...

great find

Rating: 9

I've stayed at this hotel three times now and have been nothing but happy with it. From the understated warmth of the lobby to the champagne at check-in, to the comfortable beds, to the delicious "room service" (what is the name of the restaurant that provides it?), the setting is great. Of the few times I've requested anything, the staff has been helpful. I've only seen one room that I would not want to stay in, but all the other rooms have been roomy enough (for NYC) and impeccable.

posted by acewink on Aug 12, 2003Read More...

From the Doorman to Bellman & Front Desk

Rating: 9

We recently stayed at the Roger Williams and received amazing service - from the doorman who help us with find a parking spot to the bellman who was extremely friendly and informative. There was a little mix up at the front desk but it resulted in us moving from the 9th floor to a corner penthouse......and let me just say where else can you get a $110 penthouse!!!!!! pure luck......this hotel is modern so don't expect quante - better off at the Ramada......

posted by turlie on Jun 30, 2003Read More...

IT WAS PLEASANT UNTIL...

Rating: 7

Everything was nice. You must check in around 3pm to get a nice room which I did. I didn't ask for window view but I got one, that's proper service. The only problem I had was the bathroom. Too small and it didn't have a sliding door for the shower. That was the only down fall. If the bathroom was bigger I would definitely gave this hotel a ten. Great staff, good location, exceptional value.

posted by DRES on Jun 24, 2003Read More...

Great deal!

Rating: 10

After reading the online reviews I was a little wary of the hotel, but couldn't pass up such a great price for the middle of Manhattan! This trip was a birthday present to my fiance and emailed the hotel asking them for a "special" room. We got a HUGE room (#1415) with two big windows, a little balcony area, bottle of champagne in the room, attentive concierge, very friendly staff, gorgeous comfortable bed. Sure the bathroom's a little small, but who spends time there anyway? Would highly recommend!!!

posted by sophieline on May 27, 2003Read More...

Tourist Perfection

Rating: 10

My first time ever to New York (coming from Chicago) was spent at this hotel. The hotel was in the middle of everything, near the Garden, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the Rockefeller Center area. A perfect tourist hotel. They style of the hotel fit my idea of "New York" to a tee! I was even greated with champagne upon arrival! The service was excellent, every time I asked for something, it quickly arrived. Very clean, comfortable and a great value! Complimentary breakfast, coffee and tea also helped the budget.

posted by maggio79 on Jan 3, 2003Read More...

ask for it

Rating: 9

I have stayed here many times, and each time I have had a different experience. I have gone from tiny rooms to really spacious light ones. I have found that the staff will happily move you to a room that has what you want as long as you ask for it. It's probably best to specify a big room, lots of windows, tub or shower, etc when you book. Other than that, friendly staff, great location and beautiful design make this a great place to stay.

posted by estuardo_h on Dec 20, 2002Read More...

excellent

Rating: 10

this place is worth your money. If you want to stay in midtown, but away from crazy times square, this is the place to be. Close to shopping, close to bars, good restaurants etc. tasty cafe is great across street. If this place had a bar it would be five star to me. staff extremely helpful and friendly, good bargain stay. great room,

posted by ladypear on Dec 9, 2002Read More...

Wonderful & beautiful

Rating: 10

This hotel has small beautiful rooms, is centrally located at 32nd & Madison, a great continetal breakfast buffet and a terrific staff. I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

posted by skddusa on Nov 25, 2002Read More...

Not for the late-nighters

Rating: 5

The doorway opens directly into the very small room. Therefore, any noise in the hallway makes its way into the room unobstructed. Through the closed door, I could easily hear the elevator down the hall, and doors of other rooms opening and closing sounded like they were right next to my bed. If you're a late-nighter who likes to sleep in, stay elsewhere! The Avalon, just around the block, is much better in regards to sound control.

posted by 666 on Nov 19, 2002Read More...

Comfty Bed

Rating: 10

this place was real contemparary .....i absolutely fell in love with it. very comfty beds.....and nice decor. outstanding staff, and great location!!!

posted by lthai19 on Nov 14, 2002Read More...

Cool, but not comfy

Rating: 6

This is a fine boutique style hotel. However, do not expect a large room or comfortable accommodations. The furnishings are very minimalistic and streamlines. The decor has an Asian flair, which is interesting. Do not pack your bubble bath, as there are limited tubs in the property. The hotel has had complaints about it's elevators. Expect to wait for an elevator, as they always seem to be in disrepair. I did love the mezzanine cappucino/espresso bar, and the complimentary breakfast is great. I am glad the baby grand has returned to the lobby!

posted by Hollygolightly on Aug 29, 2002Read More...

Disappointed

Rating: 5

A bit rough around the edges, although the bed was quite comfy and the customer service was fairly good. But rooms were cramped, dark, and seemed unfinished, or shoddily done in many areas. But good central location and clean.

posted by ctanniesmom on Jul 10, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .