The Mansfield Hotel

Click here to check prices & availability for The Mansfield Hotel.

12 W 44th St

Partner Reviews: The Mansfield Hotel

great experience

Rating: 10

Amanda the front desk girl was amazingly nice. She went out of her way to help me get a fantastic room - a huge upgrade from what I booked last minute by the way. The concierge was a great help in getting me into my room and dealing with my luggage. The hotel has such great character and despite it being an older building, the upgrades are nicely done. The bed is the best I've ever slept in at a hotel and I've stayed in many nice hotels. Overall, excellent staff and the best way to experience the quintessential NYC boutique hotel. I'll be back!

posted by sillyrabbit on Mar 22, 2010Read More...

They over book and lie about it.

Rating: 2

BEWARE! They frequently over book. We requested a Parlor King, when we arrived at 6pm we were told the hotel was booked and that someone did us a a favor and upgraded us to a Suite. Come to find out it is a larger room, but with a queen bed. I feverishly explained that no matter how they slice it, an upgrade does not mean a room with a smaller bed. We wanted what we reserved weeks in advance!! After some argument with staff members (all of which are nice until you find a problem and then they just turn off any decorum) we were told that a friend did the upgrade and that they also made a request that a bottle of wine be sent to our room upon arrival. I asked how some random friend would have the authority to make changes on our reservation? However, I got a variety of lies. Come to find out this is common practice for this hotel, to create a fictitious friend just so they do not have to admit they over booked and gave our room away. Oh, and the free bottle of wine; every room gets a complimentary bottle. Which is actually pretty cool if they get your reservation correct. If we were treated with honesty and respect, we wouldnt be nearly as upset. The words "sorry" or "apology" never came from any of the staff (especially the night manager Henry). Instead we got lies on top of lies. Dont worry, I am informing the proper athorities, my friends, family, colleagues, and travel brokers. Also, we had to stay here for over a week (all the neighboring hotels were booked) the espresso/coffee machine in the lobby was broken 6 out of the 7 days we were there. PS on a lighter note, the maid on our floor was super sweet..

posted by snoee on Sep 18, 2009Read More...

Reservations mean nothing to this place

Rating: 10

Had a reservation for a king bed. called ahead to ensure it would be ready.. checked in to realize our room had a queen bed.. All staff, inclunding mgmt was totally unapologetic..

posted by CSMobileUser on Sep 8, 2009Read More...

Romantic!!!!

Rating: 8

My fiance and I got engaged our first day in NYC in central park, we then decided to just get married in the city we love! We stayed at the Mansfield and the room was Great! We had a King room and the bed was super comfortable! I never sleep well in hotel beds, by far the best! The only problem was our a/c wasn't working and although it was late October the room was alittle stuffy! The room otherwise was cozy and the staff was great. Make sure you tip the door men and bellhops they are truly the back bone of a hotel. with out them you need to get your own stuff and carry your own bags! That aside fantastic and we will stay again. Room was neat, clean, and just enough, maybe they need room service though! There is a little diner out the door to the left and across the street, 2 min away (walking) and great little diner food.

posted by ChefRocksIt on Jan 17, 2009Read More...

Trendy hotel at a great price!

Rating: 10

This was the first time staying at the Mansfield and what a great experience. I stay in the city a lot and this hotel is far superior to many others at the same price. The rooms are cozy however the staff, amenities, location and the details that this hotel offers are SUPERIOR!

posted by mlhauge on Mar 16, 2006Read More...

Pleasant stay

Rating: 8

Stayed in a suite. Compact and old but tastefully furnished and cozy. Staff were pleasant. AC and complimentary wireless internet connection worked well. The only thing I missed was a minibar/fridge. Breakfast was complimentray but nothing impressive. I'd rather go to a cafe and pay for a better quality coffee and a bagel.

posted by gbgo on Jun 30, 2005Read More...

cozy

Rating: 10

My wife and I checked in for the weekend. What a beautiful, charming spot. Staff are so friendly and attentive. Room was very charming although one note the closet was small. If your in for more than two nights maybe ask for a larger room. Location is great right off 5th. avenue and near all the fine shops. We found out that the bar has Jazz night on Wensday's. We will be back. Love it!

posted by howlre on Apr 2, 2004Read More...

Big Letdown

Rating: 4

What a letdown this was. Have stayed at Iroquois, Algonquin, this is WAY below their standards. Too small room, noisy doors, plumbing, leaking old window A/C. Room was not ready until after 4:30pm, windows not soundproofed. There was no jazz in the bar and the coffee machine was broken. I wish it had been a different experience but it was sadly such a big letdown.

posted by ter on Jul 14, 2003Read More...

A Midtown Gem

Rating: 9

A gem in the middle of Manhattan. Wonderful staff and service, Champagne waiting for you upon arrival. Get the suite (806 and 906 are the best) and you'll have plenty of room

posted by kuehnll on Nov 27, 2002Read More...

Great location, nice hotel, small rooms

Rating: 8

This hotel is centrally located for any NY visitor. It reminds me of the charming hotels I have stayed in Paris. The staff is friendly and helpful and once inside the hotel is a nice escape from the bustling streets. Be warned the rooms are on the smaller side, even for NY standards. The hotel has rooms with a full bed and with very little manuevering room. At a minimum, request for a superior room.

posted by carchan on Sep 3, 2002Read More...

JAZZ JAZZ JAZZY!

Rating: 10

The Mansfield is one of the few places with a true appreciation for good music! Brazilian and Fusion jazz live in the M bar ( a very classy lounge ) I loved it! Would I go back? I 've already made my reservation for next year! Comfortable rooms, Excellent service. Much more than I expected, and I was pleasantly surprised by this jewel in NYC!

posted by tcdestined on Aug 9, 2002Read More...

Live Jazz in a velvet lounge

Rating: 8

The M-Bar at the Mansfield is a fabulous space that brings back the feel of the Jazz-era, crushed velvet5 lounges. Lit by candle light and subdued lighting its the best (and only) place in midtown where one can truly relax and enjoy a cocktail. The service is great. The Hotel is classic in its style and the linnens make for a beautiful nights sleep. What makes me come back to the Mansfield are the warm and friendly staff, I truly feel like I am comming home.

posted by jmf26 on Aug 6, 2002Read More...

warm and wonderful

Rating: 8

The Mansfield is a hotel that is as service focus as it gets. Beautiful lobby sets the whole tone for a great arrival. Many complimentary giveaways such as free espresso and cappucino, bottled water and chmpagen on arrival provides you with an experience like no other. Perfect location to shopping and broadway. Not your typical hotel experience.

posted by targen1 on Aug 5, 2002Read More...

Mansfield Hotel/M Bar- check it out!

Rating: 9

Great place, great food, great bar, great price- Enough said!

posted by GabrielleGuttman on Aug 5, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .