The Bryant Park Hotel

Voted the “Best of Citysearch” in 2006 and 2007 as the #1 Most Romantic Hotel, The Bryant Park Hotel is situated directly across from New York City’s storied Bryant Park, and steps away from the media, fashion, retail and transportation centers of Manhattan.

The hotel houses 25 stories with 129 spacious guest rooms including 16 suites, 10 park-view terraces, a Penthouse and a rooftop loft space with 180-degree skyline panoramas. Rooms are outfitted with state-of-the-art entertainment equipment, like wide-screen High-Definition televisions, iPOD docking stations and Bose Wave radios.

Click here to check prices & availability for The Bryant Park Hotel.

40 W 40th St

Partner Reviews: The Bryant Park Hotel

Bryant Park Hotel is not worth the money

Rating: 4

The room was nice, but it was very expensive. Love the location. The staff seems uninterested. Our room had NO hot water in the morning and ...

posted by Citysearch User on Jan 6, 2010Read More...

Bryant Park Hotel is not worth the money

Rating: 4

The room was nice, but it was very expensive. Love the location. The staff seems uninterested. Our room had NO hot water in the morning and ...

posted by Citysearch User on Jan 6, 2010Read More...

Wonderful stay in NYC

Rating: 8

I have stayed here twice and both times I experienced a very helpful, courteous staff and a surprisingly large room for an NYC hotel. The location was pretty good for shopping and seeing the sights. I got a good price the first time by booking through the hotel itself and the second time I used quikbook.

posted by Mashmellow on Sep 20, 2009Read More...

Luxury hotel

Rating: 10

We stayed here for a friend of mines birthday. The location in a great part of New York City. The suites are very luxurious and the staff is...

posted by Citysearch User on Mar 19, 2009Read More...

Luxury hotel

Rating: 10

We stayed here for a friend of mines birthday. The location in a great part of New York City. The suites are very luxurious and the staff is...

posted by Citysearch User on Mar 19, 2009Read More...

Great Stay For Fashion Week, 2009

Rating: 10

Stayed with three girlfriends while attending a runway show across the street in Bryant Park. Hotel location perfect for on-time attendance at the show; just a hop, skip and jump away. Room was generously sized, with an exceptionally large bathroom featuring a soaking tub, walk in shower and full size sink vanity. The reception staff very gracious and helpful with even simple things, like the address of a restaurant where we were having dinner. The Cellar Bar, located inside the hotel, was a trendy hot spot perfect for hanging out after dinner for drinks and dancing. Patrick, the bellman, was eager to help us on an early Saturday morning, willingly offering to hold our bags while we had breakfast at a great place he suggested and gave us the perfect advice for making sure our car was pulled right around as we arrived back from breakfast. He had us all loaded up and ready to go in no time. Only two small areas for improvement: The "free drink" vouchers given to us upon our arrival were not accepted in the bar for some unknown reason and the bellman on duty on Friday night directed us to walk up a block to hail a cab, rather than getting one for us. Not a big deal, but a pain in the neck on a very cold night in the city. Overall, our expectations were exceeded and we will return on our next trip to the city.

posted by hoyarn on Feb 23, 2009Read More...

Perfect Place for a NYC Getaway

Rating: 10

I live near the city, but it still felt like a luxurious vacation at Bryant Park. The staff is extroadinary- everyone went out of their way to make our stay perfect. Complimentary champagne, free drinks, prompt service, and they knew our names after the first day. Really lovely.

posted by travellinglightly on Jan 9, 2009Read More...

Excellent weekend in NYC

Rating: 10

We stayed at the Bryant Park Hotel during a long weekend in New York to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We made the booking directly with the hotel, which unlike others we had spoken to, was flexible and willing to offer a really attractive package. We ended up with a junior suite and, as I had stressed I was keen to make this a memorable weekend, they put us on the 17th floor where we had fantastic views. To mark the special occasion, the hotel said they would provide complimentary champagne ? when it didn?t arrive, I spoke to the receptionist the following morning and she was very apologetic. Clearly, this was just an oversight and it arrived on the second evening. The room was really great ? quite minimalist and super trendy ? with a large bathroom with separate walk-in shower and large bath. The Bryant Park is deliberately stylish and may not suit those with traditional tastes; however, we found the service attentive and not too formal. In particular, the concierge was very helpful in securing reservations at a couple of top restaurants. Other than the separate Koi restaurant and bar ? which we didn?t find time to visit ? the public areas are small and functional and limited to the reception and concierge. This wasn?t a problem for us as we wanted to see as much of the city as possible, rather than hang around in a hotel lobby. The Bryant Park is in a great location because it is within walking distance of so many of the places you will want to visit ? Top of the Rock, Grand Central Station, Empire State, Theatre District etc. ? and is within half a block of the subway. Even though it is just two or three blocks from the frenetic hubbub of Times Square, the Bryant Park Hotel is situated in a relatively calm street between 5th and 6th Avenues and, of course has the benefit of the leafy oasis that is Bryant Park itself just across the street.

posted by peeandeff on Nov 5, 2008Read More...

Best Hotel in town

Rating: 10

This hotel is my favorite in NYC - big enough to cope, small enough to care. We had a fantastic stay, the room is tredy/modern but very comfortable, the bathroom is big and well fitted. The location is great and the close proximity of the park makes it pretty unique. The service from all staff was excellent and they made a holiday long weekend very special. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone, they would not be disappointed.

posted by kpbf on Sep 3, 2008Read More...

My new favorite in Manhattan

Rating: 10

I fully enjoyed my first stay at the Bryant Park Hotel at the end of May 2008. I found the hotel staff to be very friendly and courteous, especially at the reception desk, both during check-in and check-out. The hotel itself is housed in a beautiful historic building right on the southern edge of leafy Bryant Park. The interior design is modern and elegant. I had a large room (their Deluxe Queen View category) on the sixteenth floor with a gorgeous view of the park. I loved it. The bed was very comfortable. Best of all was the enormous bathroom with a giant tub and a separate shower with an oversized showerhead. This was like a personal spa and especially nice after racing around Manhattan. I was looking for a hotel that was not astronomically expensive but still had a high level of style and comfort. This is the place. It will be my new home-base on future visits to NYC.

posted by capitalBill on Jun 3, 2008Read More...

Recomnded ! !

Rating: 10

Bryant Park Hotel is my favorite hotel in NYC. Very trendy, modern and sexy.The doormen were polite and kind and helpful. The rooms are large by NY standards and And the Cellar Bar is a hot place to hang out. On site Dining is KOI Restaurant, featuring Japanese inspired cuisine with California accents. The Cellar Bar is the 3,000 square foot cavernous lounge for nightlife.

posted by cynthela36 on Dec 13, 2007Read More...

We LOVE the Bryant Park!

Rating: 10

We LOVED our stay at the Bryant Park. I recently got married, and my husband and I stayed at the Bryant Park with many family and friends for the weekend of the wedding. It was perfect! The location - right off Bryant Park with a view of the park, the library, and the beautiful skyline - is fantastic and extremely convenient, the staff is wonderful and helpful, and the rooms are spectacular (including the bathrooms with skyline views) - if you are lucky you will book one with a terrace over the park. Thank you to the Bryant Park for making our wedding weekend wonderful!

posted by becingber on Jul 23, 2007Read More...

Loved it

Rating: 10

Loved staying at the Bryant Park. Great service. Huge bathrooms with luxurious white robes. Comfortable. Fun. Excellent views of the park.

posted by hingber on Jul 21, 2007Read More...

I LOVE this hotel!

Rating: 10

I've stayed at The Bryant Park Hotel for business five or six times over the past two years, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in NYC. I stayed here last night. I absolutely love it. The beds are great and I got a great night's sleep. The bathrooms are huge. The shower had great water pressure, and had a hand held nozzle as well as an overhead huge shower head. The rooms I've stayed in are really comfortable. One time, I was upgraded to a Junior suite, and it was larger than my living room at home (which is pretty large). Last night, i stayed in a Deluxe View room (I think that's what it was called) and it was very big too. There was a big flat tv on the wall. The people who work at the hotel are really nice. Everyone is always really friendly. The last time i was there, I met Greg, the Doorman who was on the cover on the NY Post, because he is supporting Obama, and used to support Hillary Clinton.... He was really friendly and helpful and never stopped smiling... This morning, as i was getting ready, i heard music coming from the park. When I checked out at about 8:45, I asked what was going on. The Front Desk person said that Rascal Flats (spelling?) was performing for Good Morning America and it was a free concert in Bryant Park. She said they had these every Friday morning. How cool..... I'll be back.

posted by katinova on May 18, 2007Read More...

Urban Oasis

Rating: 10

I recently spent the weekend at the Bryant Park Hotel with my boyfriend for a little weekend getaway. I have never had such a positive and wonderful hotel experience before. The rooms are unbelievably gorgeous. I never wanted to leave! The beds were so comfortable and I kept switching between watching the amazing views and the super cool plasma TV that was in the room. The bathrooms were so elegant; I could have soaked in the tub for hours. After an amazing dinner at Koi, the helpful staff pointed us in the right direction to purchase Broadway tickets and was extremely helpful. Every time I came and went they greeted me by name and I really felt like I had a personalized stay. I will definitely return and recommend the Bryant Park Hotel to others!

posted by lbrown2002 on May 18, 2007Read More...

GREAT HOTEL!

Rating: 10

Loved this place! I was lucky to be treated to a "weekend away " in NYC,,,, Since I love parks ,I thought that the Bryant Park Hotel would be perfect! And perfect it was! From the minute I walked in the hotel, I felt like I was on a real vacation (instead of a long weekend!) The bellman could not have been nicer, asking if I drove in etc, and told me that if we needed they were here "to serve me"! I was worried that I would have to wait for our room since we were early, before check in time. They called the housekeeping department and they were able to get a room cleaned for me in 20 minutes! The housekeeping department was great (thank you!) The room was "cool" and spacious (which I had been warned about with NYC hotels), fantastic views and loved the flat screens ( I felt I was at home, but better because I didn't have to do any work!). They were even able to get us into Koi (the restaurant), not an easy thing to do, trust me I had tried on my own! Thanks Bryant Park Hotel, see you in September!

posted by allebasi on May 16, 2007Read More...

Terrible Service-Great location

Rating: 2

Well some people prefer location but customer service is critical for me and the Bryant Park lack in every way. I was visiting on a business trip with a co-worker. They gave us the smallest room available (I hope) a cracker box. We asked if there were any larger rooms available and of course no was the answer. Considering that they have no rooms with double beds and seeing it was two of us you would have thought they would have tried to find out a larger room or give us the option to wait for one to become available, but no that did not happen. Two hours later we come back to have our co-worker check in and she receives a suite upgrade. Later that evening, we come down stairs to use the concierge service about dinner and he asks us are we with Serina Williams (I guess because we were black) and recommends a dinner. How many guests of a luxury hotel eat at dinners? After dinner we call down to request a late check-out, do to our event ending after 12noon and the front desk person say's, we would have to call in the morning, it would be due to the weather depending on whether they could authorize a late check out. Moments later, our co-worker (in the suite) calls down and request a late check out and they tell her 2pm. I called downstairs to complain and they give us 2pm check-out also (so we think). The next day, we come back from our event at 1:30 and go to our rooms to check out and our key card is decoded and doesn't work. Check this out, after being locked out of our rooms, we had to show ID to get back in. Never no apologies for inconvience. The only person showing customer service consistently was the doorman. DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY!!!!

posted by ricecy on Mar 6, 2007Read More...

HOTEL HELL!!

Rating: 2

Pretentious is about the only thing this hotel has going for it...and maybe location. If you like to spend your money on absolutely terrible service then this is THE place to do it. I have never experienced so many money hungry wannabes (a.k.a Staff) enclosed in one building. If you don't tip them then service is absolutely nil. If you complain then you get screwed in some way. The whole concept is a joke and i can't believe that places like this exist. As far as pretty goes....there are places where people are pretty, genuine AND nice!! This is definitely not one of them!

posted by nyresident1 on Dec 29, 2006Read More...

great

Rating: 10

This hotel is by far the best hotel in NYC!! Rooms and the service are wonderful!. There bedding and beds are fantastic, too! Location is the best, near everything.........

posted by angelab317 on Mar 24, 2006Read More...

Every scene in one spot!

Rating: 10

I have stayed at the BPH 4 times and will keep returning. The Deluxe rooms are the best with seperate shower / tub. Some of the views of Bryant Park are outstanding. The convenience of Koi (awesome, upscale Sushi cuisine) on site with a scene attached to it and the Cellar Bar makes this hotel such a great time. Very romantic, large rooms, good for business travelers and couples.

posted by lmcdltd on Mar 15, 2006Read More...

Stupendous

Rating: 10

Great service and excellent rooms make me want to come more often. The rooms are very spacious and the guest services agents are very kind and knowledgable. I din't have any problems, but if I did, I am sure that they would know how to accomodate me.

posted by ras429 on Apr 18, 2005Read More...

Think twice

Rating: 4

This hotel caters to a certain type of traveller. It is not, and I repeat not, the frequent business traveller. But if you are travelling to NYC with a friend, or your wife, sure, try it. Otherwise, the basic fundaments for being a hotelier, are not grasped here. Instead they have really bad service and a substandrad value offering. And a largely incompetent staff makes your check-in. check-out, message handling etc, a burden on you (!!!). So, go there for the bar scene but do not stay there. When and if the hotel get their act together and learn what the basic hotel service is about (and understand that being pretentious doesn't make up for good service) you may try to get a room and use it for business meetings. But that is not now!

posted by d_fens on Nov 14, 2004Read More...

Could you ask for more?

Rating: 10

Awesome. Rolled into NYC hours early, called ahead to see if a room was available. Not only was it ready, they upgraded us to a suite overlooking the park. Stunning. Comp drinks at Cellar Bar, wonderful room, luxurious bed, cool elevator, nice decor. Could you ask for more? Not reasonably in NYC. This is a place I would recommend to anyone with confidence. I will definitely be returning.

posted by 4hocks on Jul 20, 2004Read More...

Fantastic Hip Hotel

Rating: 10

I recently stayed in one of the "Bryant Park Suites" and had a great experience. The room was incredible. It was a large with seperate living room and bedroom which made for a great place to chill after a hectic day or to have friends over after clubbbing. The bathroom was huge with a shower and tub. Best of all was the fantastic view of Bryant Park. Overall, the hotel staff were very courteous and helpful and the location couldn't be better. After reading some of the other negative reviews, I think it may be worthwhile to upgrade to one of the suites facing the park.

posted by jurinex on Jun 8, 2004Read More...

Very Nice Stay

Rating: 9

I've stayed six or seven times and it's been excellent each time. Rooms are spacious for NYC. Bathrooms are downright luxurious. Service is excellent. Beds are super comfortable. Location can't be beat. Lots of hotties in the bar charging two $9 drinks on a credit card b/c they don't carry that much cash. Not sure what that's all about.

posted by pdquinn on Jul 2, 2003Read More...

My Favorite Get Away

Rating: 9

A great place to get away for the weekend to be pampered!! The service was spectacular and the rooms were extremely spacious...would definitely recommend staying there just for the experience!

posted by Karina on May 22, 2003Read More...

A Hidden Gem

Rating: 9

I stayed at the Bryant Park because of CitySearch and I couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are HUGE and I even got a room overlooking the park! The restaurant is very expensive but be sure to check out Cellar Bar in the lower level. Very Cool indeed.

posted by Tonella on May 21, 2003Read More...

One of the Best

Rating: 9

I enjoyed my stay very much. The guest rooms are huge, not to mention the baths. Room Service is very expensive, but the service and Cellar Bar are top notch. A must see when visiting NYC

posted by Adrian_Brody on Mar 25, 2003Read More...

The Best yet

Rating: 8

Twice I've visted The Bryant Park Hotel and it was so much more than expectation, the staff was helpful and friendly, the red leather wall is unique and give a romantic atmosphere, the room is quite simple very large and to the point, the largest bathroom in New York is at The Bryant Park, the bed, the bed, the bed I just wanted to take it home. Good work guys, keep it up. See you soon. Heidi

posted by Heidi_Henderson on Mar 25, 2003Read More...

This New Old House

Rating: 3

I was suprised at the painted walls, with the scuff marks and handprints. And, please, fix the ceiling in the lobby - why does it have a hole. This is suppose to be brand new - what football team stayed over? I was told there were butlers, which had been dicontinued months earlier and the bar was cool but so was the survice.

posted by Sampler on Nov 13, 2002Read More...

Charming

Rating: 10

What a phenominal renovation...kudos to the developers for allowing the building to maintain its dignity.

posted by jcclic on Aug 27, 2002Read More...

Amazing Birthday Night Here

Rating: 9

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday last year. We got a corner suite for a decent price and the room/service was amazing. The cellar bar downstairs is nice too, though the tables are too close together, i felt like I was having drinks with the strangers next to me.

posted by mikesg8 on Aug 9, 2002Read More...

Hot spot for the in crowd

Rating: 7

When you do find it, hopefully you are greeted by a person. The hallways are bare and quite institutional looking. How about going to Mercer or Hudson to see how lighting is essential for any space??? The rooms are comfortable for a no personality look. The bathrooms are luxurious though and minibars quite stocked. If you make it to the Cellar Bar, you'll enjoy the music (live DJ) and cool surroundings, not to mention the great martini list. Hey, meeting a hottie is not a challenge for most as the crowd is cute.

posted by brighteyesnyc on Aug 6, 2002Read More...

Beautiful Hotel, Disappointing Service

Rating: 4

Beautifully renovated, large, comfortable rooms, great views, etc. As an architecture student, Im happy to see the AR bldg. so spiffy, and its why I initially decided to try it. Everything about the space is what you would expect from a boutique hotelin fact, almost too much what you would expect: looks like all the others. However, the real downfall of the BP is the staff and service. The overall attitude seems to be a youre-only- cool-enough-to-be-here-because-youre-paying-for-it snobbery from the cocktail waitress on up. Moreover, incompetence reigns: our TV was never working and no one could be bothered to fix it, and we were locked out at 2a.m. because the front desk screwed upand couldnt feign to apologize. I wrote to the manager; he wrote back offering nothing .Unbelievable. Why stay here when there are so many other great design hotels in midtown that treat you like royalty?

posted by mmjonesmm on Jul 22, 2002Read More...

Not Worth It

Rating: 4

It's not that pretty, and it doesn't deliver on most of what it promises. Our room was not ready at check-in time. They promised they'd upgrade us to a suite for our troubles, but they did not. There was no butler, no fresh flowers. The room was small and plain (although the bathroom was very nice). The Turkish rug - stained, the cashmere blanket - overused, the park view - obstructed, the internet service - $15 per day. It was pretentious, but not impressive.

posted by gleize_z on May 27, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .