Sofitel Los Angeles

The Sofitel is a 4 Diamond luxury hotel near Beverly Hills, overlooking the famous Hollywood Hills and offering the ambiance of a French chateau with California flair. This hotel is adjacent to Beverly Center Mall and is accessible from either Los Angeles International or Burbank airports. The Sofitel is located in a prime area for shopping, but it is also convenient to many cultural attractions like the J.P. Getty Museum or just sightseeing in neighboring Hollywood. An onsite brasserie serves outside on their terrace or by the hotel's swimming pool.

Click here to check prices & availability for Sofitel Los Angeles.

8555 Beverly Blvd

Partner Reviews: Sofitel Los Angeles

Resident sofitel DJ Crash

Rating: 8

My name is Crash. I am the preferred Disc Jockey (DJ) for all the Sofitel events. Weddings, Bar Mitzvahs, birthdays, corporate events and so on. The Sofitel is a fantastic spot to host an elegant and intimate event. The staff is cordial and easy to work with I highly recommend Sofitel for your upcoming reception. Crash crash@djcrash (dot) com

posted by djcrashusa on Mar 25, 2010Read More...

Simon LA

Rating: 8

Simon LA is located in the Sofitel Hotel next to the Beverly Center. Celebrity chef Simon creates delicious comfort food dishes. The resta...

posted by Citysearch User on May 12, 2008Read More...

Gigi Bar

Rating: 8

This large space is a great alternative to all of those cramped bars in town. It's located just across from the Beverly Center mall and insi...

posted by Citysearch User on May 6, 2008Read More...

Sofitel Los Angeles

Rating: 8

This is a great hotel, and the location can't be beat. The staff were nice and courteous. My room was clean and neat and also pretty comfy. ...

posted by Citysearch User on Nov 26, 2005Read More...

Sofitel Los Angeles

Rating: 8

Sofitel Los Angeles has the BEST location .. It's close to Rodeo Drive and Melrose Avenue, AND it's across from the Beverly Center.. Great l...

posted by Citysearch User on Oct 5, 2005Read More...

WONDERFUL Eggs Benedict

Rating: 8

The bene here is served on foccacia bread instead of an english muffin...and what a HUGE difference it makes. They also have fresh squeezed oj and grapefruit juice. I love the outside patio. I'm really surprised this restaurant isn't more popular. It's right across the street from the Beverly Center. I always stay at the Sofitel and I love Gigi Brasserie.

posted by tattud_gurl on Jul 15, 2005Read More...

Boring Hotel Restaurant

Rating: 6

No need to make reservations here- Expect to be the only table occupied any night of the week. You could fall asleep in your soup it's so quiet and low-energy. Food is good but overpriced for what is not much of an experience. Staff is friendly and tries hard.

posted by dbudreaux on Feb 18, 2005Read More...

Beautiful Birthday Dinner

Rating: 10

My girlfriend wanted to celebrate her birthday with a small gathering of friends on the Gigi patio. We had a wonderful time all the way around. The food was great (I highly recommend the "Surf and Turf") and the service was top notch. Sebastian, the General Manager, came out and personally brought us bread and drinks and even took a group picture for us. The patio was beautiful, they have a plexiglass partition to deaden the noise of traffic but you still get a view of the bustling city and they set up gas heaters for us to make sure we didn't get too cold while enjoying the amazing food. A great location for any occasion.

posted by drluv99 on Jul 23, 2004Read More...

The best Birthday dinner... hands down!!

Rating: 10

Wow! I don't know where to begin. Comfortable and classy. City Chic. The best dang crabcake EVER!! (Alaskan King Crab Cake) It took me more than 1/2 an hour to decide what to order because everything sounded so good. But, I expect a good restaurant to have good food... the thing that blew me away the most, was the Artful Presentation (magazine worthy). I am telling you... Iron Chef, move over!! Kitchen stadium doesn't know what they're missing. Kudos to the chef (and the designer). Want to feel elegant and relaxed after a day at the Bevery Center? Want to celebrate YOUR 31st birthday or anniversay? THIS is the place to do it! --McCall Bennett

posted by mccallbenn on Jul 14, 2004Read More...

GiGi's.... Why haven't we heard more?

Rating: 10

Why is this place not on the map??? Great city dining on the patio (where we ate), and definetely a French bistro feel..... Very reasonably priced... About $30.00 for lunch.

posted by kjanawati on May 27, 2004Read More...

Outstanding

Rating: 10

This restaurant is a hidden gem on Restaurant Row. The menu is surprisingly inventive and decadent for a hotel restaurant. The outdoor patio is a tranquil escape and the food and service amazing. Try the foie gras for an appetizer, the veal and lobster tail entree and the creme brulee sampling for desert.

posted by roballeman on Mar 31, 2004Read More...

User Reviews: Sofitel Los Angeles


Sofitel Hotel LA, 36 hrs in LA

So I was in town for a wedding and for some reason, my fav, the W Hotel was fully booked, so after a few recommendations by LA friends, I booked a room in the Sofitel Hotel.  It's supposed to be perfectly located, across the street from the Beverly Center and walking distances to many places (nobody walks in LA, so this is really a moot point).  Unfortunately, I went from the airport to a club and didn't get to the hotel until 4am when the skeleton crew was out.  The first impression was one of quiet subduedness.  The hotel was large and bright outside, but the lobby was very very dark.  The eye candy at the front desk was very nice but couldn't program a key card, no problem, the bellhop escorted me to my room and let me in.  

The room itself was very small, granted, I got the absolutely least expensive room, but at $285/night, it's not all that cheap.    

The bed was also very nice, with the signature SO feather bed and duvet (I'll confess, I bought a W Hotel bed from Simmons Beautyrest with the plush top, also another uber nice bed a la Hastens' level of comfort, best $1100 I've spent).  This bed is very soft and comfortable, the duvet is snuggly soft and the down pillows are amazing (I need to get some hypoallergenic pillows like these).  I will follow my compliments with the following comment, the featherbed is ideal for sleeping and probably too soft and fluffy for other bed-related activities.  

The Frette bath robes x 2 were a nice touch.  The Sofitel hotel terry slippers were nice, but were of the disposable variety.  The furnishings of the room was slight above standard fare from a Hyatt or Hilton.  A 30 inch LCD LG tv was a nice touch.  I must say, for someone who doesn't own a TV at home, I was rather impressed by the picture qualities of the LCD TV on the HD channels, it's hypnotic, I was watching Tiger Woods on HD and couldn't take my eyes away, and I don't even like golf.  Like all hotels, it comes with a safe in the room and a little minibar with microsensors that detect movement of the beverage, so if you move it, you'll get charged.  Don't open the thing up to examine it because the door contents might move and you might get charged.  There's soda, Pelligrino, and Heinekin in there, probably $10/bottle.  On the other note, there's a bottle of Evian on your nightstand waiting for you.  Wonder will they charge you for it?  I drank mine.

The bathroom was very nice, I absolutely loved the shower stall with the overhead shower head.  The TV's program is piped into the bathroom via a speaker under the sink.  The counter is a smooth polished stone, not marble, maybe lime.  The sink is a very chic rectangular shape, very NYC SoHOish!  Front lit lights from behind the mirror plus a magnified vanity mirror ensures you identify all your imperfections prior to hitting the town.  The bathroom door is a slider that gently slips closed.  One complaint about the bathroom?  The toilet takes too long to refill the tank and it goes about it in a noisy fashion.

Now, I don't know if the walls are super thick or what, or maybe my neighbors were just sleeping at 4am, but I didn't hear a mutter from any of my neighbors during my stay, which is what I absolutely need.  I can't stand the TV or muffled conversation noise from neighbors and the Sofitel hotel does not impose that discomfort on me.  Unfortunately, when I woke up, I smelled cigarette smoke.  I requested a non-smoking room and called down to the front desk, which confirmed that I was in a non-smoking room, but was able to move me to another floor and room.  The first room opened up to a view of the hollywood hills, which is a nice view, but not a huge incentive to keep the tobacco fume filled room.  The second room faced the Beverly Center, so I got a view of people taking the escalators to their shopping in Bloomingdales.  I also got to count the number of Bentleys rolling around the streets of Hollywood.  

The service was prompt throughout my stay.  Calls were answered quickly and worries addressed instantly.  Room service was nice, they addressed you by your name when you call before you introduce yourself.  The food was pretty good (not that you can mess up eggs over easy or anything) and I guess $27 for two eggs, three sausages, 2 slices of toast, hash brown and fresh squeezed orange juice is a decent price since it is delivered to your door (I think a diner will probably charge about $15, so add about $10 for hotel convenience).  The concierge was also very helpful and fast.  From printing the boarding pass for my flight to calling a cab (parked across the street) the wait for service at the Sofitel Los Angeles averaged 5 seconds.  

The lobby is very dark at night but more vibrant by day.  The front desk is on the left as is the concierge table.  The small business office is there too, with internet access while sitting on these ultra cool clear plastic bubble stools.  To the right of the lobby is the gift shop in front of the elevator, I think it's open early because it was open at 7am when I left the hotel.  It's similar to the W Hotel gift shop, a lot of novelty item.  Adjacent to the gift shop is a sitting area with deep couches that stretched the length of my 6 foot frame, I had to slouch back on those things and still use a pillow on my back.  They are very very deep.  The sitting area precedes the entrance to the LA Simon Restaurant which is supposed to be a trendy restaurant with a famous chef (their eggs/breakfast is pretty good, as described above).  Also here is the Stone Rose, which is a night club/bar/lounge and supposedly a hot spot.  After the wedding, I returned home exhausted only to discover dozens of hot babes in skirts that ended slightly north of the butt cheeks hovering around the front of the hotel and inside the lobby.  I guess it must be a hot spot indeed, to see and be seen.  Unfortunately, I had an early flight, otherwise, I'm there!  Oh yeah, being a guest at the hotel gets you onto the VIP list at the Stone Rose.

Overall, the Sofitel was a very positive experience and despite the $285/night price tag, I would return again.   The amenities were excellent and the service was outstanding.  


Don't Use This Hotel for Events

If you were considering using this hotel for an event -- DON'T!  We were planning to have our daughter's Bat Mitzvah there.  We sign that contract and paid the deposit almost ten months in advance.  Then, as we were about to order invitations in the weeks before the event, they announced that they would not honor the contract.  You cannot depend on them.

Post a User Review

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .