RITZ CARLTON PHILADELPHIA

Click here to check prices & availability for RITZ CARLTON PHILADELPHIA.

10 AVENUE OF THE ARTS

Partner Reviews: RITZ CARLTON PHILADELPHIA

not as ritzy as i expected

Rating: 4

when I stayed at the ritz in philly, i was expecting fire works. I had always dreamed about staying at a ritz, so i had high expectations. however, i was deeply disapointed by what i got: a tiny room with threadbare and ratty carpeting, a small fuzzy TV, starchy bed sheets, and negligent service. The restaurant downstairs was okay, albeit the overly greasy food. on the whole, the thing needs some updating.... and a new chef.

posted by rebeccarml on Apr 28, 2007Read More...

Just what the doctor ordered

Rating: 10

What a relaxing weekend we all had in Philadelphia. First this great hotel pampered us with its ambiance, then our trip to Heaven Spa was glorious,and to top it off a fabulous meal at The Palm. Thanks Philly.

posted by nivtsi on Oct 31, 2006Read More...

Ritz not as ritzy as expected

Rating: 6

I was disappointed in my first Ritz Carlton stay. When I reserved a deluxe room I expected so much more from a hotel that is supposed to epitomize luxury. The carpeting was threadbare and stained in spots and the oversized (by hotel standards) room had just one small upholstered chair to sit on, yet there was room for a small sofa or even two chairs so my fellow guest could sit as well. I do give kudos to the bathroom though...very nice. For the money though, there are any number of mid-range hotels whose rooms are just as nice and maintained better.

posted by mcrow309 on Jun 15, 2006Read More...

not on par with other Ritz hotels

Rating: 4

This is just an ok Hotel. I have stayed at several Ritz properties and this is far below their standard. I'm not sure why but I would not suggest this for fellow travelers.

posted by jtphotos on Jun 9, 2006Read More...

They call this a Ritz??

Rating: 4

I have stayed at several Ritz Carlton hotels and have been delighted, the Ritz in Philadelphia, however, seems more like a 2 star hotel. The "Superior" room we booked was cramped and had no character. The marble bath was the only saving grace. Two of the lamps did not work and the alarm went off at 6:00 in the morning. There were no city guides, or even a listing of hotel services in the room. Had the room had a spa menu, I would booked a massage, but there was no information available. I had to stand at the Concerige desk for 10 minutes while he finished a personal call to get a map. The next day, when it was pouring rain, the hotel had no umbrellas to lend me, and acted as if it was an out-of-the-ordinary request. Not what I expected at the Ritz.

posted by cmo118 on Dec 31, 2005Read More...

Best classy bar in the city

Rating: 10

My wife and I favorite bar after a romantic and expensive dinner!!! Nice drinks, excelent service, you feel like a kind, you must try the mini burgers and the fruit plate.

posted by harrypwc on Sep 11, 2005Read More...

Luxury Hotel??!?!

Rating: 2

The worst! Awful service! Gym looks like a YMCA rec room with old, outdated equipment. One night, I saw a staff member taking a nap on an equipment in the dark! Frightening. It was always about 90 degrees in there, and you can't work out for long before feeling like fainting. They turned off the hot water one morning without telling us. Shower is weak with no water pressure. There's only one electrical outlet in the entire room?! How do I iron my clothes? My vent must have shared the same vent as the kitchen because I woke up every morning with the most nauseating smell of bacon and onions wafting through my room. They also lost one of my packages. Tracking said it was delivered to and signed by the hotel, but I got nothing. Another package, they found hiding in the bellman's closet. This hotel is terrible!

posted by vloom on May 19, 2005Read More...

OK place but needs updating

Rating: 6

I stayed at the Ritz for a week last summer and expected a nicer place. Don't get me wrong, its a decent hotel and far better than a Holiday Inn but given the price, it wasn't as nice as I expected. The decor needs a bit of updating and my room was a bit small.

posted by derekm on Sep 1, 2004Read More...

It's nothing compared to the Four Season

Rating: 4

Truly disappointed with the quality of the room as well as service. Probably once deserved its 5-star, 4-diamond rating, but not anymore. You have one chance to make a first impression but from the inattentive housekeeping to the flawed room design, the hotel needs some serious revamping.

posted by jyc145 on Jul 4, 2004Read More...

Beautiful Hotel w/ Great Service

Rating: 9

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton in 10/2003 and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is beautiful, in a non-ostentatious way. The location is fantastic, within walking distance of great restaurants, bars and attractions. We particularly enjoyed The Vault (cigar and scotch) Bar and The Rotunda, which hosts enchating jazz music and a chocolate buffet. Mmm. We received nothing but exemplary service. from the moment we checked in, to Molly the bartender in the Vault Bar, to the wonderful gift shop lady selling morning coffee, to Reggie the doorman. In fact, any staff member we passed smiled with a friendly hello. Our room overlooked city hall and there was some noise from the street (honking and such). However, the room was such a fantastic price, we couldn't complain. In fact, we are trying to figure out when we can go back!

posted by faithful96 on Oct 5, 2003Read More...

Cold Water - Cold management

Rating: 4

Beneath the confines of the beautiful hotel, the lack of care provided to us or my other friends staying at the hotel was disgusting. From the horrible workout facilities to the COLD only showers, and management saying it was a fluke and was fixed (until the next morning, when it again was COLD again!). The noise at this location is merciless, as it is on the main street to a Hospital. Not the hotels fault, but windows can be made to contain noise, but not here. My advice, go to the Lowes or the Grand Hyatt down the street.

posted by parmetcpa on Jun 23, 2003Read More...

Ritz has more ambiance than Four Seasons

Rating: 10

How can you discount the wonderful bar in the rotunda at the Ritz? It is a great place to sit with a drink (and your sweetie) and watch the world pass by.

posted by sjurg on Feb 15, 2003Read More...

10

Rating: 10

only been to paris bar and grill. superb stuff. more of a comment to earlier post, although based in Atlanta, Ritz Carlton is owned by Marriott. They are just run as an independent, hands-off subsidiary.

posted by herblau on Oct 3, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .