Library Hotel

Click here to check prices & availability for Library Hotel.

299 MADISON AVE AT 41ST STREET

Partner Reviews: Library Hotel

Beautiful Paradise in the city.

Rating: 8

The Library Hotel is a small boutique hotel who's theme is of course a library! located a block away from NYC library, this extremely clean...

posted by Citysearch User on Nov 9, 2005Read More...

an oasis

Rating: 10

after a hectic day of ny tourism, it was great to come back to the calm and comfort of the hotel to rejuvenate for the nightlife. location was FABOLOUS, service was nice, room was well done (small but with high ceilings and very nice bathroom). overall, LOVED IT.

posted by gingerbcookie on Nov 11, 2004Read More...

No comlaints

Rating: 10

This place is seriously cool even for NYC. Service was always nice and very agreeable. The outdoor rooftop garden is a wonderful escape. Rooms are small, but aren't most in the city? Enjoyed it and will return.

posted by jjrrww on Jul 1, 2004Read More...

Hidden Charm

Rating: 10

We had to go to a function at the Waldorf, but we didn't want to stay there, so we entered NY 10017 into Citysearch and this popped up as highly rated. It couldn't have been nicer. Just 60 rooms, but with a great location. Clean, quiet (for NY), and low-key with an amusing theme. Breakfast, included, was good. Nice indoor sitting area with cityviews and fireplace on the roof. We can't wait to go back. Our friends who stayed at the Plaza were jealous. We were not nickled and dimed, either. Free amenities like bottled water, afternoon wine, and videos to watch.

posted by randallw on Mar 19, 2004Read More...

Very Original

Rating: 10

The style is subdued but quite impressive. Solemn and can get the right impact at the right time. Worth staying here. Friendly staff.

posted by scottwesley on Jun 25, 2003Read More...

Library has fairy tale quality

Rating: 9

Just returned from a 5-night stay at the Library Hotel and can only say it enhanced my trip 100%. Previous reviewers had commented that the petite rooms were indeed petite, but I found the room to be a perfect size with beautiful mellow furnishings/bathroom to match. From our arrival to departure the staff were nothing but courteous, and when my partner ordered flowers to be delivered with our breakfast they were only too happy to oblige. The bed was thoughtfully turned down every night even if we had only been gone from our room for ? an hour. The breakfast was very enjoyable and tasty for a continental, but the highlight of their service was the evening cheese and wine reception held in the 2nd floor reading room. The only slight hitch to this hotel is that you never want to leave it to explore New York

posted by aimeet on Apr 29, 2003Read More...

Can't wait to go back!!!

Rating: 10

My boyfriend took me here for my birthday & it was great!!! I love the whole concept of each room having it's own theme!!! The decor is incredible, and even though our room was a little small, it didn't matter, all the furniture was VERY comfy! The service was perfect, when we checked in my boyfriend told them it was for my birthday & they gave us a coupon for a free bottle of wine to have in their resturant, which was also great! The service there was a little slow, but luckily we weren't in any hurry! The seperate reading rooms & upstairs rooms were awesome!! I highly recommend this place!!!

posted by rickyrae on Oct 17, 2002Read More...

intimacy & luxury

Rating: 9

We have stayed here 5 times and love the intimate feeling as well as the amenities. While other hotels (i.e. Plaza) may offer more 'grand' entrances and old world charm, the Library can't be beat for it's combination of convenient location, value and 'intimate' and comfortable public spaces in the hotel. It has become "our place" to stay in NYC whenever we go! Also quite a romantic setting! I suggest a room service dinner in front of the fireplace!

posted by vinnya on Oct 11, 2002Read More...

Unique and charming

Rating: 7

This is one of my favorite hotels in Manhattan. It is near Times Square, without being in Times Square. It is tasteful, well-designed and feels very expensive. However, it can be pricey. The hotel is designed as an actual library. Look behind the front desk to see the old card catalogue files! Each room has it's own theme. It's a great idea for a hotel. Do not reserve the "petite room." It is quite petite.

posted by Hollygolightly on Aug 29, 2002Read More...

Bookworms Enclave

Rating: 10

A place for all bookworms, academic et al could find a serene oasis for hiding in when the world outside gets a tad bit harsh on ones nerves.

posted by tsarstepan on Aug 28, 2002Read More...

Sophistication and fun

Rating: 10

We have stayed at Library Hotel since it opened. Each visit we eagerly wait to find out in which literary category we'll be staying. We have been in Advertising, Photography and Erotic Literature just to name a few and, believe it or not, we've actually read, or at least glanced through, many of the books. The hotel and its staff could not be more delightful.

posted by tboerger on Aug 26, 2002Read More...

VERY impressive!

Rating: 9

Got a room for my girlfriend's birthday and was very impressed. As far as little Manhattan boutique hotels go, this one should be the top of anyone's list. All the rooms are based on different sections in a library- Fantasy, Poetry, Greek Literature, etc... making every single room unique. Alos, ideal Midtown location just a block and a half away from Grand Central. All in all, highly recommended.

posted by ntfool on Jul 9, 2002Read More...

Cozy Luxury, Great Books

Rating: 8

If you're going to be traveling to/from Grand Central, this hotel is super-convenient and a wonderful place to pamper yourself without the uber-cool, we're-too-chic attitude of some of the city's other boutique hotels. I loved the bookish theme (you can see the nearby NY Public Library from some windows), with great books in all the rooms and a "reading room" with a fireplace and additional books (including a solarium with poetry books). Get a cup of tea and some cookies from the breakfast/snack room on the 2nd floor and go unwind on the lovely outdoor terrace on the 14th floor. Room was very clean, nice dark-wood appointments, wood-slat blinds, silky sheets, free mineral water, desk, radio/CD player, a well-arranged bathroom with cool fixtures (magnifying mirror, Qtips, a jar of cotton balls, robe). Only drawback: nighttime construction noise outside.

posted by SRosenbaum on May 15, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .