International House

Click here to check prices & availability for International House.

221 Camp St

Partner Reviews: International House

Excellent place. Best location!!

Rating: 10

You want to be close, but not in the French Quarter. This is the place. Nice and comfortable rooms, outstanding service.

posted by PedroPabloSerrano on Jul 20, 2009Read More...

good.

Rating: 8

Debated between the Ritz Carlton, W Hotel, and the International House. The W was booked, and expected the Ritz to be a bit stuffy, so I went with International House. I'm very happy with my decision. I requested a high floor and got the Penthouse room, facing the French Quarter-ish/River. Unfortunately, the views were partially, to mostly blocked by other hotels anyway. The hotel is located about 1-1/2 blocks to the French Quarter, but if you really value cleanliness, you probably should not stay in the quarter anyway. I only say that because housekeeping seemed to be less than the very best when it comes to being on the ball. Semi-clean-ish, let me put it to you that way. Obviously, I can all overlook this requirement during Mardi Gras season when a balcony room on Bourbon Street is highly sought after, but not during winter high season in general, with the rates to match. The staff was very helpful from the start. The doorman relays your name to the desk staff as you arrive so magically everyone knows you by name by the time you step in to the hotel, a very nice touch. Our room wasn't ready upon check-in, so we were comped by their GM these wicked drinks at the bar. One sip, and my wife was toast! On Friday nights, the hotel's lobby bar is always hopping. The gym has decent enough equipment, but is a bit cramped. A spa on the premises would have been perfect.

posted by remmick on Feb 16, 2009Read More...

nice.

Rating: 8

Debated between the Ritz Carlton, W Hotel, and the International House. The W was booked, and expected the Ritz to be a bit stuffy, so I wen...

posted by Citysearch User on Feb 16, 2009Read More...

Chic, stylish, romantic

Rating: 10

First class hotel. From lobby to bar to room, all of it was great. Valets at front door should open the door, but other than that, not a single complaint. Would love to stay again in our lovely corner suite.

posted by texasgourmet on Nov 25, 2008Read More...

Horrible Hotel

Rating: 2

Every year my family and several friends fly to New Orleans for Mardi Gras; we are originally from New Orleans and really enjoy going back for our favorite time of year. This year we found the International House online and it looked great. The location is fantastic and the bar downstairs is very nice. Other than that it was an awful experience. We can (sort of) accept that there wasn't any room service due to the restaurant not being reopened but it does not excuse the rest of the service. We were there for 4 nights and the rooms were never cleaned. The cleaning crew would come and knock on the door every morning around 8:00am (of course we were not up yet) and would not return at a later time. We called the front desk, we put the sign out on the door for service, stopped the cleaning crew in the hallways but nothing worked. They made the bed once and we got clean towels twice but they never took out the trash, changed the sheets as asked, freshened up the bathroom, or pretty much anything else. Not only was the cleaning crew incompetent so was the front desk. Any question or request asked of them was a huge inconvenience for them. I understand it is Mardi Gras but for the past 5 years of doing this trip; we have never had an experience at any of the other hotels like this one. I couldn't believe how rude they were. They would not even pick up the phone to see if a particular restaurant could get us reservations. There was just no service what so ever. To top it all off, the rooms are no where near as nice as the online pictures portray them to be. Pretty much it was like staying at a Budget Inn. All in all, stay at one of the more competent hotels in the area. Walk the extra block to the W Hotel or the 2 to the La Pavilion. May be a little more a night but at least your mattress will not be covered in black soot that kept spewing out the air vents on your sheets that the hotel would not change!

posted by al55 on Feb 20, 2007Read More...

Almost perfect

Rating: 10

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. From the front desk staff, to the rooms and the bar, Loa. This place is simply put, amazing. We had a HUGE corner room on the third floor. The decor is very nice, the linens, artwork and pictures are all exactly what is pictured on their website. When we walked into the room, jazz was playing on the radio. The hotel also has free wireless access. I will be staying here next time I come to New Orleans.

posted by slpaquette on May 27, 2006Read More...

hip but relaxed

Rating: 9

I stayed here for Southern Decadence this year. Had a nice (but SMALL) courtyard room. The staff was super nice, really went out of the way to be helpful with suggestions for places to dine and things to do outside of the quarter. Yes, the rooms are a tad smallish, but the bed was great, the bathroom was well kept and the decor was very cool. Far enough from the quarter that you can sleep at night, close enough to play without dumping cash down the taxi-cab well.

posted by kosherhotdog on Nov 10, 2003Read More...

The Center of New Orleans Chic

Rating: 8

The best looking thirtysomethings in New Orleans congregate in the magical loa (the hotel's lobby bar) every evening after work. Dress to impress. The hotel is a New Orleans interpretation of the best boutique hotels in the US. It's like the Delano with Louisiana gentility and a voodoo twist.

posted by kamarene on Jul 21, 2003Read More...

Great Experience

Rating: 9

Debated between the Ritz, W, and IH. W was booked, and expected Ritz to be a bit stuffy. Very happy with decision. Requested a high floor and got PH room facing the french quarter/river (but views partially to mostly blocked by other hotels anyway). IH is 1.5 short blocks from the french quarter, (but if you really value cleanliness, you probably should not stay in the quarter anyway. Obviously we can all overlook this requirement during Mardi Gras, when a balcony on Bourbon Street is highly sought after). Staff was very helpful from the start. Doorman relays your name to the desk staff as you arrive. Very nice touch. On Friday night, the hotel hosted a hip Audrey Hepburn event/auction. The gym has decent equipment, but is cramped. A spa on the premises would have been perfect! The tuna carpaccio at the Lemon Grass downstairs, is the best we've tasted.

posted by yashkin on May 21, 2003Read More...

A fun and hip place to stay

Rating: 9

The International House was a cool place to stay at! It has a very similiar feel to the W but without the price tag. This place is hip so you won't come across the "stuffiness" of a typical 4 to 5 star hotel but you still have the comfort of one. I would definitely recommend it despite some unfavorable reviews. Also, it's close to all the action. You also have to check out Loa - their bar in the lobby.

posted by rwan on Jan 22, 2003Read More...

great bed side tables

Rating: 10

This hotel is one of the best I have ever staved in. From the bar that never closes to the dimly lit bathrooms with stall doors that go from the floor to the celings, complimented by a handy stainless steel toilate paper dispencer. THe staff was extremely helpfull in finding me anything I could possibly want, at any hour. The rooms were just the right size to hold a few guests that I met on the streets, and none of them complained about the beds. an A+ all around.

posted by cjkline11 on Oct 2, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .