Hyatt Regency Chicago

Click here to check prices & availability for Hyatt Regency Chicago.

151 E Wacker Dr

Partner Reviews: Hyatt Regency Chicago

Great for a winter weekend

Rating: 8

I stayed at the Hyatt because it was Christmas holiday. If you stay at the W, overlooking over the Navy Pier, or the Westin looking north past the Drake up the shoreline, you realize how bleak things get in the wintertime. Lake Michigan looks SOOOOO cold. But I asked for a room high up with a view of the Wrigley Building. They put me on a high floor in the West Tower facing north. Excellent. The semi-frozen Chicago river in the foreground, and the Wrigley and Tribune buildings behind them -- the foot of the Mag Mile. In summer, sure, maybe you want to see the Navy Pier or Grant Park, but this was perfect in winter. Other good things: (1) the staff were extremely solicitous and helpful; 5-star customer service, (2) the main lobby is capacious and comfortable, as is the Big Bar, the hotel's main bar in the lobby, (3) the hotel connects to the underground (a network of underground halls that connects the nearby buildings), which is very convenient for lunch when the weather is raw; everything from Mickey D's to sushi, (4) the Regency Club, a modest room upgrade that gives you a high-floor room, and free continental breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres, (5) room amenities -- I like the ipod docking station. Good selection of entertainment, too. One reviewer whined that the coffeemaker was stowed under the TV. Dude, it's not attached. Try moving it. Bad things -- let's see.... I had none of the elevator waiting that was decried in the other reviews. I'm thinking maybe there is more demand for the East Tower elevators, but I never waited long for one in the West Tower. (1) The room soundproofing is poor. My first night was quiet, but on the second night, a loud dude checked in next door and I could hear everything he said. After I gave him a sample of my ipod playlist, I didn't hear much from him. (2) Unsatisfying shower spray; and the ventilation made it impossible to build up a room full of steam. Overall, I would definitely return.

posted by FuzzyLogic on Jan 9, 2009Read More...

Average

Rating: 6

It was very close to the Magnificent Mile. Check in and out was easy. I just found the hotel very average and not really worthy of its 4 star rating. Coffee maker was horrible. The worst part of the experience was the employee that was in charge of the mini bar barged in while my girlfriend and i were sleeping/laying down. nothing had been removed from the mini bar and it was only a few hours after i had checked in. so i really didn't see why they needed to be checking it at all. She wasn't very friendly either.

posted by stuardw on Jan 3, 2009Read More...

Hyatt Hotel on Wacker Dr in Chicago a big disappointment and way overpriced

Rating: 4

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Hotel ( room 2523 ) on Wacker Dr in Chicago and attended a business conference there. Becuase I booked the room via the business website, I ended up paying $269 per night rather than $219 per night ( which is the price on the Hyatt's website ). The room was small and dark with outdated furniture. Half of the electric outlets did not work. The coffee maker was placed in a crevice under the TV and virtually impossible to use as a result. The carpet was stained and the room had no microwave or refrigerator. The air conditioner was very loud and every time anyone in any of the several rooms above us flushed the toilet, we heard it throughout the night. The hotel staff were very impersonal. The safe in the room was unworkable. The hotel itself was very dark and extremely difficult to find our way. Access to the internet was priced at $13.69 per day. Some hotel websites rate this hotel as a 4-star. I think this hotel is not even a 3-star. In fact, when compared to other more modest hotels such as Marriott, I would rate the other hotels much higher mainly because the Hyatt continues to attempt to charge you for everything as if it were a 5-star hotel ! Not quite a rip-off, but very close. Go somerwhere else. You will be glad you did.

posted by 040753 on Nov 6, 2008Read More...

Not a good place for Romantic Getway

Rating: 10

Me and my boy friend wanted a quite and private weekend and that's why we booked this hotel. But it was way too crowded all those convention people and families all over. It's a great hotel; the location is in the dead center of Chicago and the service was very nice there. But I just don't recommand you this one if you are looking for a romantic getway thing. Maybe girls' weekend? Maybe.

posted by ChicagoLover205 on Nov 3, 2008Read More...

Unless you get a killer deal, pass on staying at the Hyatt Regency Chicago.

Rating: 4

We did get a killer deal thru PriceLine ($90.00 per night) and stayed on the 5th floor in the West Tower. The view was great - looking out onto the Chicago River with a glimpse of Navy Pier. The room was loud; we heard everything going on in the hallway and in our upstairs neighbors' room including when they went to the bathroom. If you can avoid parking at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, you should - the cost is $50 per day.

posted by columthursday on Apr 6, 2008Read More...

Good value with a great location.

Rating: 8

I booked through Priceline and got a pretty good rate for this 4 star hotel downtown. I had stayed at the hotel before so I knew what to expect. Room was nice and had a decent view of the Wrigley Building and the river. One question for them is, why do you get big flat screen TVs and then not have HD and not a lot of channels to choose from? My only real complaint is the layout of the hotel. If you aren't familier with the hotel it's easy to get lost going between the two towers and all the amenities. Also, the gym is way to small for the size of the hotel. We tried to work out once and every piece of equipment was being used.

posted by AMSnyder on Feb 18, 2008Read More...

Exceeded expectations

Rating: 10

While I was a little leery of staying in one of the world's biggest hotels, due to potential service disasters, they were above and beyond what was expected. Our room itself had more than enough space for my girlfriend and I which was a pleasant surprise. We were incredibly early to check into the hotel 11 a.m. on a Thursday and were promptly into our room within ten minutes of walking through the lobby doors. The bathroom was quite spacious as well, only problem there was no fan for ventilation to avoid the shower steam. Concierge service was great at the front desk and recommended a restaurant that fitted exactly what it was were seeking for dinner. The "Big Bar" in the lobby was waaaay too overpriced for what it was. Although it is the biggest bar in the U.S. it doesn't mean you can have the biggest prices either. Besides that we didn't eat at any of the hotel restaurants because we wanted to see the city more. The location is perfect if you want to be in the center of the touristy area of Chicago. Everything from the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier, Museums, Millennium Park, were withing walking distance. A great place to stay in a city that was well worth the trip.

posted by jiggat23 on Jun 19, 2007Read More...

Great room and super view

Rating: 10

Very nice room for a decent price. We stayed in the West Tower just to keep away from the swarms of people. Our room overlooked the Chicago River. It was a great view. The room was a good size and the bathroom was larger than most. The soap and shampoo smelled great. The room showed a little wear, but it was pretty modern looking and still nice. The room was quiet too which is a huge plus. Watch out on the room fridge. I took some of the drinks out and looked at them and then put them back. My bill at check out showed that I was charged for 2 concessions. They took it off at checkout, but said they would have to check my room and if something is missing they will recharge my bill. I asked that it be done right then so I could be there too, but I was told it would take a while. When I asked that a manager be called to check the room I was told that couldn't happen. Not to found of that, but overall the whole experience was pretty good. Also, I think the room is about $160 per night, but I went on Priceline and got it for $100. Great deal. The hotel is 1/2 block from Michigan Ave and close to everything. We walked to all our stops the whole time there.

posted by girlaudio on Mar 7, 2007Read More...

nice but too big and old

Rating: 4

It is a great convention hotel or a place for a school trip. However it is somewhat old and overcrowded at times.

posted by briankalita on Jan 3, 2006Read More...

Great Value for $45 a Night!

Rating: 8

I liked the Hyatt Regency Chicago for $45 a night. I live in Chicago, but I like staying downtown just to get away from it all. Very nice hotel overall, a LITTLE crowded at check-in. Great Service, nice staff, and liked the Big Bar. Great value up to $110 a night.

posted by szulcc on Sep 15, 2005Read More...

The best in the city

Rating: 10

At the Hyatt Regency Chicago, the lobby looks better than most hotels period. Its spacious and huge, just like the rooms they have you stay...

posted by Citysearch User on Jul 19, 2005Read More...

Great hotel

Rating: 8

Good for conferences, great wait staff for lunches. Very accomodating for seminars and such. I recommend for quality and price. Location is ...

posted by Citysearch User on Jul 6, 2005Read More...

A Nice Place to Hold A Meeting

Rating: 8

The Hyatt Regency Chicago is a nice place to stay if you're going to be in Chicago. If you're trying to plan a meeting, this hotel is even ...

posted by Citysearch User on Jun 29, 2005Read More...

Hyatt Regency Chicago

Rating: 10

This 4 star hotel scales 27 floors high and houses 2,019 guestrooms and119 suites. All rooms are flanked with the astonishing view of the ci...

posted by Citysearch User on Jun 26, 2005Read More...

Disappointing to say the least

Rating: 4

The BAD things from the other reviews were true, especially the elevators. One person I rode the elevator with this morning waited 18 minutes. I finally took an elevator up to get down. I also found the staff to be unfriendly. They seemed bothered when I called for a wake up call. One night I asked for some toothpaste to be sent up, the woman rudely said it would be right up, I'm still waiting. Connie's Pizza in the hotel is horrible. We waited 15 minutes for a waitress to come take our orders. Once done eating, we had to find the waitress to get out checks (after 10 minutes of waiting). We had asked her to seperate the checks, which, she didn't so that it took even longer. All this at a discounted rate of $134 a night. Glad that I am not paying for it!

posted by ouphikap21 on Feb 24, 2005Read More...

for the price it was great

Rating: 8

if you have an entertainment membership you can book a room at this hotel dirt cheap...in my case it was just $59 a night...staff was very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable with a nice couch and sitting chair...if you have business to do, the complimentary internet access is a definate plus...my only complaint was the wait for elevators, otherwise everything was excellent

posted by cp48851 on Jan 22, 2005Read More...

Great on a budget

Rating: 8

Its a great hotel on a budget in the downtown area. The rooms are confortable although small. Got an upgrade for free. Bad: Drunken people walking around. Elevators were out of order for a little while. I had to use the service elevators. Good: Only hotel guests can access floors. Park around the block and save $$. Service is great.

posted by shehzad on Jan 19, 2005Read More...

Best deal downtown

Rating: 10

I booked the room for $42 on Priceline and it was well worth it. Without even making a request, my wife and I were given an upgrade by the friendly desk clerk. The showerhead was great, the toiletries were great, and the pillowtop mattress was great. From our room we had a great view of Michigan avenue and the wrigley building. Our only complaint was the obnoxious, drunken buffoons who ran screaming through the hallways at 1:30 am, but that certainly can't be blamed on the hotel. Avoid the valet - park in the millenium garage and save $20. It's only 2 blocks from the hotel.

posted by waukeecoug on Mar 31, 2004Read More...

Nice Renovation!

Rating: 9

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for a week in August. We were very impressed with the renovations. The room was perfect for our long stay. Checking in was a breeze and the staff was so friendly. The location is wonderful, we walked everywhere we needed to go and the El was a short walk away also. Don't waste your money eating in the hotel, though, when there are so many wonderful restaurants close by.

posted by brookelackey on Aug 19, 2003Read More...

A big convention hotel

Rating: 7

I've stayed at the Hyatt many times, even though I've never been there for a group or convention. It's conveniently located, being a $6.00 cab ride to anywhere in the Loop/Magnificent Mile/River North area. The rooms have always been clean and fully stocked. One time I got an upgrade to the parlor of a suite - it had a Murphy bed, but it was as big as two regular rooms put together. Views north of the river and Streeterville are much nicer than the views south, which are blocked by the BP building. Only negative - a big convention can fill the place up and make you feel out of place and awkward.

posted by mapleleaves on Jul 6, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .