Huntley Santa Monica Beach

From the hotel:

Offering dramatic views of the ocean, city, and mountains, THE HUNTLEY hotel redefines Southern California cool with a striking new look. Combining the ultimate tranquility of a beachside retreat with a uniquely urban vibe, our Santa Monica Beach hotel is the perfect blend of city and sea, casual and chic, sophisticated and whimsical.

Click here to check prices & availability for Huntley Santa Monica Beach.

1111 2nd St

Partner Reviews: Huntley Santa Monica Beach

Welcome to The Huntley, your home away from home! The Huntley Hotel is an oasis of understated contemporary elegance and comfort amidst the hustle and bustle of the cityscape. Step into the lobby of The Huntley and you will be entranced by our chic hotel near Malibu, where eclectic furniture from post-modern to raw refined timbers, and soft leathers mixed in with the pale tones of elegant wall coverings transfer the beaches of Santa Monica into the hotel lobby. As you travel up the elevator, each level greets you with carpeted floors in warm earth tones and decorative Venetian walls that inspire a calm and quiet serenity.

Guest rooms at The Huntley Hotel provide the perfect Malibu area retreat. Our luxurious 209-room hotel overlooks the Santa Monica oceanfront and boasts oversized guestrooms including 20 suites and one penthouse suite.

Great hotel

Rating: 8

Stayed here twice and I have had great things to say each time. The room swere clea, check-in was fast, and the bar and breakfast spot is also really excellent.

posted by rnoord on Nov 17, 2009Read More...

Very Nice Hotel

Rating: 10

This Place has the best views in Santa Monica from the top-floor restaurant. Even from the restroom you get a great look at the ocean. The room is cool and the food is decent but go early or have a reservation on the weekend.

posted by troywarkentin on Nov 10, 2008Read More...

Cute Santa Monica hotel

Rating: 8

I stayed at The Huntley for 4 days while I was moving from NYC and before my LA apartment was ready. It's cute, clean and conveniently located in Santa Monica and its so close to the beach. The view from The Penthouse restaurant/bar is amazing and worth the visit.

posted by denag on Nov 1, 2007Read More...

Nice atmosphere, horrible food

Rating: 4

The Huntley has great atmosphere compared to the other westside options, but don't bother with eating there. The menu is overpriced for food that is not very good and the service bad. As far as the bar...I have been twice, both times I have ordered champagne. Both times I received a glass of old, flat, disgusting champagne. Both times I've asked for a new glass to receive a second glass of old, flat, disgusting champagne.

posted by mjj3201 on Aug 25, 2007Read More...

beautiful view

Rating: 8

beautiful hotel , great room and very romantic , the food is okay but the view is amazing..go there for drinks and to see beautiful people

posted by rirwan on Jun 12, 2007Read More...

Best new restaurant and hotel in LA!

Rating: 10

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in Los Angeles, the location was perfect and the rooms were great! They have hippest lobby and lounge, restuarant, rooms, I have ever seen. By the way, I loved the PENTHOUSE, the best food and the coolest place I have ever eaten. I hope you enjoy the hotel as much as wee did!

posted by shane126 on Mar 27, 2007Read More...

Must See!

Rating: 10

I had a very positive experience at the Huntley for the duration of my stay. First off, the staff was very friendly, courteous, and was always ready to help me with anything I needed. I checked into their Malibu Suite, and let me tell you? It was an experience I will never forget. When I walked into the room, there was a full view of the ocean and Malibu in front of me. The room was very modern and tastefully decorated. I decided to go upstairs for dinner at their restaurant The Penthouse with my girlfriend. The restaurant had a full view of the ocean and the city 18 floors up! Parts of the ceiling were cut open and there was a very cozy fireplace which we sat in front of waiting for our table. Moving on?. The food was AMAZING!! You need to try the cinnamon infused halibut, and the fillet. You should also try the desert (the sampler platter was great). Overall, I had a great experience at the Huntley and will definitely stay here again soon.

posted by techguy81 on Mar 24, 2007Read More...

Our entire night lasted 32 mintues!!

Rating: 4

I was hoping for a place with a view and some nice cockatils(at the Penthouse resturant). My wife and I got there at 10pm and we were out the of the parking lot by 10:32pm!! Here are some of the reasons: 1) Drinks cost $12 each a piece!! Sure I don't mind paying that price but when the bar tender tells me "12 bucks" and I go to pay her she says "Honey , its 12 bucks each...ok"....BTW I had a screwdiver(OJ and vodka) and my wife a house chardonny..nothing fancy 2) Three drunk Australian guys trying to pick up on two drunk women..this was a scene out a Fellini movie with the drunk guys yelling at each other and the women ordering dessert (with the men paying of course) like it was going out of style. Ending with the one drunk guy spilling his drink on me and the girl being told by the head watire de that she had to take her legs off the tables!! 3) There were so many people crammed into the one place that there was no "view" and no way to navigate through the masses The only saving grace was that the valet didn't charge us anything because he noticed we left so quick!! (we tipped him by the way" All in all...I think I would rather go to Casa Del Mar...much more relaxed crowd ...a little more class and defintely much more of a view AVOID THIS PLACE AT NIGHTS!!!

posted by ashuri on Mar 24, 2007Read More...

Food Worthy of the Great Views!!

Rating: 10

I was quite simply blown away by the food and the decor. I've already had dinner here twice and both times, the food was excellent. I especially recommend the steaks. The decor is phenomenal--can't believe that this place used to be Toppers!

posted by paulineyo on Mar 22, 2007Read More...

This Hotel is PERFECT

Rating: 10

I had the most amazing stay at The Huntley. When you enter the lobby, you are immediately taken aback by the incredible contemporary decor and style. The front desk employees are super friendly and eager to make your stay perfect. The rooms are exceptionally re-done, and are extremely comfortable, clean, and have amazing ocean views. The suites are to-die-for. If you open your window, you can hear the ocean - which is the perfect way to spend a vacation in Los Angeles. And on top of all that - the new restaurant Penthouse has the best steaks, amazing flatbreads, and fabulous desserts. This hotel is perfect.

posted by rochellebeth on Mar 22, 2007Read More...

Amazing transformation

Rating: 10

This property has been completely renovated since I last visited. What a difference! You notice the change as soon as you drive up. Gorgeous, unique and funky decor in the lobby - the entrance very upscale now. The valet parking guys were friendly, helpful and bellman right there to assist too. The lobby/front desk was crowded when I was checking in so I did have to wait a a little while. Rooms were comfortable...great beds w/ all white duvets (very crisp/clean)....and full size hair dryers (I hardly ever see that in hotel rooms these days)! Without question, the best view in Los Angeles is from their restaurant on the top floor - Penthouse. I did have lunch as well as drinks/ appetizers during the few days I was there. The crabcakes were amazing! The service at Penthouse was good - just a little slow but it all still seems very new and some staff were visibly in training but everyone was nice and accommodating (even with all of my special requests)!! I would highly recommend this hotel. I love the changes and really like that it is located in more of a residential area off of Third St. - so close to everything and rates are still pretty reasonable.

posted by kirby1011 on Mar 19, 2007Read More...

Don't miss a stay at the fabulous spot!

Rating: 10

the Huntley is so unique and definitely THE place to stay in Santa Monica. it's a block from EVERYTHING and every room has an awesome view. walking into the lobby is like walking into an art exhibit and things only get better from there. the restaurant is fabulous, the service is lovely and i wouldn't stay anywhere else.

posted by rachelinthecity on Mar 19, 2007Read More...

BEST BEACH ESCAPE

Rating: 10

The Huntley Hotel is absolutely gorgeous! Totally modern, serene, chic and elegant. I stayed at The Huntley while on a business trip in Los Angeles. The location is superb. One block from the beach. And convenient to Los Angeles and Beverly Hills. From the moment I made my reservation to the moment I checked out of the hotel, I was impressed time & time again. The staff was so attentive. They remembered my name! The lobby is stunning and the rooms are absolutely perfect. The property is high-tech and meets every needs for a business traveler like myself. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever slept in. The bathrooms are spacious, modern and clean. And rooms are quiet. Then there is this spectacular rooftop restaurant called THE PENTHOUSE. I have never seen anything like it. It is on the 18th floor of the hotel and surrounded by windows with the most breathtaking panoramic views. The decor is modern, white, hip, with in-door cabanas and so much more. I met with colleagues both for breakfast and lunch meetings. And then met up with friends for dinner. I was thoroughly impressed with the food, drinks and more importantly with the service, the staff. THE HUNTLEY HOTEL is ?the? hotel to stay in when visiting LA.

posted by goldengirl1975 on Mar 19, 2007Read More...

WOW! Amazing Location and Breathtaking Views

Rating: 10

My friends have been telling me to check out the Huntley when I come down to California. I took their advice and decided to stay at the Huntley. The lobby is very modern and chic and so are the rooms! I stayed in a premier ocean view room, and you could see all the way from Catalina Island to Malibu! Even the bathroom had a perfect view of the ocean. For me, that was an expericence of a lifetime, to take a shower while watching the sunset. It was just like having your own villa by the ocean. I also tried out their new restaurant The Penthouse. Since I was a hotel guest, the concierge made me a reservation for me, and I was just amazed with how beautiful the restaurant was. This is definitely LA's new hotspot, and has the best view in all of Los Angeles. The restaurant has open skylights, a fireplace with a red neon glow in it, and private cabanas, which just add so much to the great atmosphere. The food was amazing! I have never tasted food like this in my whole life. If you're looking for an unforgetable experience, you need to stay at the Huntley, and definitely check out their rooftop restaurant, The Penthouse.

posted by travelholic15975 on Mar 17, 2007Read More...

great location!

Rating: 10

this place is great if you don't have a car. 3rd street and the beach are walking distance which makes it really convenient. the lobby of the hotel is really cool. it has a really good decor. they burn these really good smelling candles in the lobby that they sell in the gift shop. the gift shop also has really yummie sandwiches if you don't want to go up to the restaurant. but...i do suggest you go up to the penthouse restaurant for a meal or drinks while you're there because the view is amazing! and the decor is really chic too. they have this huge bar and the roof opens up. it's really cool. reservations are probably a good idea because they're super packed on weekends. we went up for drinks on a thursday at like 11pm and the bar was still super packed. the rooms in the hotel are really nice too. very elegantly decorated. the two best things in the room are the beds and the plasma tvs. the bed is super comfy. all in all the place is pretty sweet.

posted by clx683 on Mar 16, 2007Read More...

The Key Ingredients for an Unforgettable Experience: Luxury, Location, and Love

Rating: 10

Simply put, the Huntley Hotel Santa Monica Beach is THE quintessential hotel experience in Southern California. As a seasoned traveler, I have stayed in five star hotels across the globe and to date, none have matched the elegant and emotionally gratifying experience we had at The Huntley Hotel Santa Monica (ideally nestled near the corner of 2nd Street and Wilshire Boulevard in Santa Monica). To start with, the hotel's suites are absolutely stunning. Each room is equipped with a Plasma Screen television and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in in my entire life. In fact, I asked one of the friendly staff members at the front desk where they get their beds and she took the time to introduce me to their sources for beds and bedding. Even though these kinds of amenities shined throughout our experience, nothing matches the ocean views from the hotel rooms and their chic new restaurant, "The Penthouse." We had heard very positive reviews from the press and some friends who had attended the opening and let me just share my sentiments, "The Penthouse did not disappoint." In its essence, The Penthouse matches any top restaurant in Southern California. It matches the decor of Asia de Cuba (The Mondrian), trumps the service at L-Orangerie, and the food is creative, sumptuous, and suitability priced. I would recommend The Huntley Hotel and the new Penthouse Restaurant for any traveler or restaurant goer who seeks service, luxury, and fun in an atmosphere that celebrates life and its finer pursuits.

posted by anizen on Mar 16, 2007Read More...

best hidden treasure in the west side

Rating: 10

fantastic location, great vibes, very cool & hip atmosphere plus the rooftop Penthouse restaurant is 'the bomb!'

posted by vigan on Mar 15, 2007Read More...

Absolutely Gorgeous Hotel!

Rating: 10

The Huntley is a truly amazing establishment! Down to every last detail, from A to Z, inside and out, all is simply remarkable. I've never experienced anything like it. The style & decor, the ambience, and the warmth and friendliness of all the staff-- all truly exceptional and worthy of high praise. But don't take my word for it-- go and experience the beauty of it all yourself!!!

posted by mvfelix on Mar 15, 2007Read More...

Most Spectacular Hotel In Santa Monica!

Rating: 10

After we had an amazing dining experience at the Penthouse, the hotel's new restaurant, my husband surprised me with a weekend at the hotel. We stayed in one of the hotel's suites and the room was absolutely spectacular. First of all, it is HUGE, very stylish and super clean. Secondly, it has an open bath, plasma TV, and the most unbelievable ocean view. We barely left the room!! It was a very romantic weekend and I HIGHLY recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

posted by mermaid8 on Mar 15, 2007Read More...

Best loung and food

Rating: 10

great place, great service, you must go and experience it on your own, Things really have changed in this place, the decor is wonderful, the food is great the food is excellent. The management is great and very organized.

posted by lindanf on Mar 15, 2007Read More...

you need to se the lobby

Rating: 10

when i arrived to the hotel i was amazed at the lobby. you need to check out the wall with the perana. the hotel has a modern beachey feel. The suite i stayed at was one of the nicest rooms i have aver been in.

posted by sas1234 on Mar 14, 2007Read More...

Best Beach Hotel

Rating: 10

A perfect Contemporary Chic Beach Hotel in the best location. The decor is gorgeous. The rooms are open, airy, contemporary with every attention to detail met. The service is impeccable and the staff is so friendly. And the most amazing restaurant The Penthouse on the rooftop. Wow! You MUST stay at The Hunltey when you come to Los Angeles!

posted by hotel2626 on Mar 14, 2007Read More...

Great hotel

Rating: 6

great hotel and perfect location to go to. nice service, great restaurant and design. the rooms are lovely and cleaned.

posted by 1705 on Mar 14, 2007Read More...

Classy, hip hotel with fine dining only steps away from the beach. Superior service and elegant design coalesce with comfort and service.

Rating: 10

Classy, hip hotel with fine dining and views of the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Very chic lobby. Superior quality designer rooms with amazing comfort and service. This is the place to be if you enjoy being 2 city blocks away from the beach. The Huntley is always a good time!

posted by bsaadian on Mar 12, 2007Read More...

cali hotels

Rating: 8

The Radisson Huntley Hotel of Santa Monica is a great place for business travelers. The rooms are spacious and offer a good working environm...

posted by Citysearch User on May 12, 2005Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .