Hotel Wolcott

Click here to check prices & availability for Hotel Wolcott.

4 WEST 31ST STREET

Partner Reviews: Hotel Wolcott

Over 100 years of hospitality history. The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York. Near the Empire State building, UN, Macys, Circle Line, Broadway, theater and meat packing district, SOHO, Greenwich Village, and all public transportation. The Hotel offers clean comfortable modern accommodations in an old world atmosphere at reasonable prices year round. We have been written about in many domestic and international guides. All rooms have TV with pay movies, Internet access, in room safes, iron and iron boards. There is a gym and free breakfast of coffee and muffins. All this value at a great budget price.

Not bad

Rating: 6

not too bad, not too good, just in the middle.

posted by TonyAA on Jul 10, 2009Read More...

Beautiful hotel

Rating: 8

We stay here when we went to see wicked. Even though they say it is a bargain It was a little pricey but it is one the the better bargain ...

posted by Citysearch User on Dec 2, 2008Read More...

Antique lobby in midtown

Rating: 10

I recommend the Wolcott Hotel for its central location, moderate prices, and above all for its century old lobby decor. Even the pendulum clock in the marble lobby is from the last century. And its cozy English style lobbyis a great place to meet people.

posted by BernMarcowitz on Jun 23, 2008Read More...

best budget hotel

Rating: 10

You get a cheaper rate if you reserve via telephone. It's really nice here, the photos don't do it justice, the staff is friendly and well trained. There are late nite eats when you can't sleep, right around the corner, also cheap souveneirs for folks back home, around the corner, the empire state building is nearby, it takes about 2 minutes to walk there. It's great here, no problems at all, and no problem with parking (they validat/discount at an assigned garage nearby). Start exploring before you get a cab, so much is nearby. The rooms are so clean, and the beds are comfortable. Believe me on the following, the rooms are not small, surprise, surprise, we were ready for tiny. Plus you get a tub. For 180/night and superlative service, WOW. these reviews led me to wolcott, so, since july, I imagine it's still great. no fear, this is new york at it's finest, on a budget ofcourse (otherwise, take your chances, you pay less, you wil get less, and isn't safety in the big apple your main concern. I loved it, (and I'm damn picky) good luck

posted by dummud on Aug 18, 2007Read More...

Great Stay for a Great Price

Rating: 10

My son and I just returned from our second trip to NY where we stayed at the Hotel Wolcott both times. I would definently stay there again. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We had plenty of hot water, and the staff were always very friendly and accomodating. They just rewallpapered a lot of the hallways- ours was very bright and cheerful. They have a nice gift shop where you can buy souvenirs or snacks. The hotel is convenient to so many things- Empire State Building, Manhattan Mall, Madison Square Garden and Penn Station are all just a short walk away. There's also a Burger King, CVS Store, Subway Sandwich and Dunkin' Donuts combined store, and a post office all pretty much right around the corner. The nights are very quiet. The only complaint I have is the morning ritual of door slamming. I don't know if it was the maid or just inconsiderate people, but I'd listen to this repeatedly every morning, so don't plan on sleeping in late. The room doors are not very sound-proofed. Other than that, it's an awesome place to stay and I'd be happy to stay there again!

posted by kellamy on Mar 27, 2007Read More...

sweet place

Rating: 10

we love the wolcott hotel !!!!!! Its perfect for tourist!!! so close to everything !!!!close to all the sweet action!!!!!my girlfriend and I had great time in new york!!!!!!!!

posted by cablestreet on Mar 22, 2007Read More...

In heart of Tourist NY

Rating: 10

Clean, Comfortable, Spacious Rooms, Friendly Desk Service. in heart of tourist NY.Great Value for Money.

posted by hdeboeck on Mar 21, 2007Read More...

Count on the Wolcott!

Rating: 10

I had just checked into the Wolcott when the blackout of 2003 hit. No one after me could get a room, because the card keys couldn't be programmed; but the Wolcott staff handled the situation admirably, bedding down dozens of people in their lobby. It's centrally located in midtown, within walking distance of just about everything (I know, because I couldn't get any money out of the ATM so I walked everywhere). The rates are very low, the people are friendly, and the hotel is shabby but comfortable. Our bathroom fixtures and flooring were spotless and recently installed. Excellent choice for those on a tight budget.

posted by jeffrpennstate on Mar 22, 2006Read More...

QUIET rooms, fabulous staff

Rating: 10

I've stayed at the Wolcott twice and was wowed by it each time. It's centrally located on the island, yet is on a quieter side street (31st). I like that when I'm there, I can walk anywhere AND I'm not stuck up in the Disneyfied tourist trap that the Times Square area is becoming. The staff always was super helpful and friendly: with extra towels, cots, glasses, etc. If you want mid-town, this is IT!

posted by kutrieb3 on Mar 22, 2006Read More...

Wolcott the Saver

Rating: 10

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on several occasions, the last of which was very last minute. The staff were very accomadating to the needs of my family. The location is awesome, with easily the best deli in New York just around the corner open 24/7 and serves the best food with affordable prices. The Empire State Building within walking distance, and Times Square.

posted by banjo1972 on Mar 22, 2006Read More...

location and value

Rating: 8

Having read the other reviews, we were prepared for what we got. The room was pretty large for the price but as spare was you might expect. Large closest is puzzling. Staff sort of indifferent. Lots of construction nearby. Get a room on the East side of the hotel to avoid the noise. Easy walk to subways and buses. Buddy Holly apparently stayed here. We had a great time.

posted by gbradshaw on Mar 15, 2004Read More...

Hotel Wolcott-Don't believe the hype

Rating: 2

I was not expecting luxury, but a good bargain and comfortable place to stay--that is not what I received. The staff is nonchalant about everything, so don't expect friendly service or expect them to care. The elevators are small, stuffy and more than half the time, only one works. I sat through three cycles before I was able to get on with my luggage. Summer visitors: beware of the AC. The air conditioning is a LOUD window box. Unless you want to sleep in an oven, you need to have the AC on at night and the noise will keep you awake. Hot water in the morning is also a rarity. There is no AC in the hallways or elevators so everything smells like people, old food and smoke. If you are on a serious budget, you can't beat it, but don't believe the hype. This place is highly over-rated.

posted by tiffanyewest on Jul 29, 2003Read More...

Good CLEAN Hotel

Rating: 9

My husband and I just returned from NYC (December 2002). We stayed at the Hotel Wolcott and thought it was pretty good. Now, if you are looking for a nice, big, luxurious hotel, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a safe, clean place to spend the night, this hotel is great. I will admit that the elevators are pretty slow and small. And the room that we had was REALLY small, but it was really clean. I am picky about the cleanliness of hotel bathrooms and this one was spotless. I was really impressed. My husband and I agree that we would stay there again. Like I said before, it was clean and allowed us to spend money on other things then the room. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends who were looking for a budget hotel in NYC.

posted by elehnert on Dec 17, 2002Read More...

fun in the city

Rating: 9

We found the Hotel Wolcott a few years ago by accident and it was a real blessing. Nothing fancy but clean, polite staff and great location. I would stay there again with out hesitation.

posted by lollyM on Nov 25, 2002Read More...

Not fancy, but...

Rating: 7

You will be happy with this hotel if you are pretty much independent and believe that a hotel room is just for sleeping at night. Most of the room's floor area was occupied by the oversized bed and there was not much room to move around or open your luggage. Hotel staff didn't seem very willing to help tourists get around in town. Basically, you will be on your own. If you need personal care and courteous service, look elsewhere. I didn't see a concierge working at the desk just once during my three-day stay there. On the positive side, the rates were low and the room was clean. But that's all about it. I certainly wouldn't invite my girlfriend to stay there with me.

posted by Doc_Mas on Nov 25, 2002Read More...

We found a great deal!

Rating: 9

My friend and I stayed at The Hotel Wolcott recently and were a little worried about what kind of room we'd get for only $99 per night. We were pleasantly suprised. The room had two twin beds that were comfortable (especially after days of walking around the city), it had a hair dryer, ironing board and iron, air conditioner, and an in-room safe. The hotel also has a laundry room . The staff let us check in 7 hours early at no extra charge. The hotel is located at 31st St and 5th Ave and is an easy walk to the closest subway station. The elevator was hot and slow, and the view was nothing to brag about, but we'd definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to others.

posted by kerrykat on Sep 26, 2002Read More...

carefull....

Rating: 3

Bad experience. Only one working elevator, which was small. Rooms were not very clean. Water from faucets was brown. Everything in the room was old and needed a facelift. Bad lighting. Be carefull if your going to stay here because you might get stuck with a room that is only big enough for your bed, and that's it. No joke. Not romantic. Good place to stay if you're backpacking through NY.

posted by ziemann on Sep 3, 2002Read More...

European Wanna Be

Rating: 7

The Price was right. I liked the lobby and the personnel was friendly and helpful. It was hard for me to get my bags to my room. I had just returned from Europe and had two very large suitcases. It was extremely difficult to get my bags through some of the tight doorways and to my room. No bellman. A Negative. The room was okay. It was clean, but old and outdated. I was in a corner room on the fifth floor and felt secluded and alittle frigtened as a single woman traveling alone. It was centrally located, but not on a particulary well lit street at night. I walked to most of the places I went and found it to be reasonable to get to where I needed. Close to public transportation, if desired. I would stay there again, but would definately compare for alternatives, as well.

posted by kcolemere on Aug 18, 2002Read More...

Home away from Home...A night at Wolcott

Rating: 10

It was Valentine's Day and my better half and I were going to see Rufus Wainwright. We wanted to stay in NYC but didn't want to pay such high costs for a one night stay in the city. To avoid a big cost and cab ride home, we foudn the Wolcott hotel. It was so nice, so inexpensive and so close to everything in midtown. I loved it there. Clean, accomodating and comfy! I hope we can stay there again soon!

posted by jboogiee on Aug 16, 2002Read More...

west coast traveller

Rating: 8

The hotel lobby is inviting, the staff was helpful and the room was clean and adequate. The room was small but all we needed as we spent very little time in the room. We would definitely stay at The Wolcott if in New York city again.

posted by battycat on Aug 16, 2002Read More...

Touch of Class

Rating: 10

A great place to stay and well worth the money. Close to everything.

posted by tbkarp on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

friendly elegance

Rating: 9

friendly & efficient staff, comfortable & clean nicely decorated rooms & easy access to midtown & lower Manhatten... what elese could you want? Great price too!

posted by pollock47 on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

from an englishman!

Rating: 10

campy fading glamour, great prices, great service, great view (looking up the Empire State). Absolutely no hesitation in recommending to the budget traveller who wants more than the falseness of the travel/holiday inn type place

posted by hydebear on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

Good cheap sleep

Rating: 9

Nice hotel located in the center of Manhattan. Staff was very friendly. Room was not fancy but clean and up to date. We were upgraded to a suite - which was basically 2 rooms. Air conditioning in the room - great - however no air in the very small and very slow elevators. A staff member did inform us, however, that new bigger, faster and air conditioned elevators where being installed this fall.

posted by Lemonskelly on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

Surprise Surprise

Rating: 10

Great value for pleasure or business. Near all the great areas of Manhattan and a lot of shopping.

posted by sskarp on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

Best Value at the Wolcott

Rating: 9

Close to shopping and attractions but in a quiet neighborhood you get the best bang for the buck at the Wolcott. Good-sized, clean and quiet suites allow one person to get sleep if the other wants to stay up. The hotel is older but none of the charm is lost over time. The lobby is an attraction unto itself. You can't do better for the money.

posted by lola60 on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

Wolcott Kicks it!

Rating: 10

I loved the place what more can I say??? I would go back...recommend it to a friend and anyone else staying in the city. The area is fabulous..the service excellent and the fact that Broadway is RIGHT THERE is a MAJOR plus!!!

posted by SexyNCuse on Aug 15, 2002Read More...

The ULTIMATE

Rating: 8

Each time I've stayed at the Wolcott has been most enjoyable. I can't wait to come back!

posted by kaymoore on Aug 14, 2002Read More...

Clean, comfy, quiet

Rating: 8

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Wolcott on a Saturday and Sunday night. The room was small, but we did little more in there than sleep, so that was fine. We had a room at the end of the hall with no view, but it was very quiet; in fact, when we returned Sunday night, we heard noises from other guests in the hall, but not in our room. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic, but the lack of grab bars and towel bars concerns me. They give you a mat to put in the tub to prevent slips, and I recommend using it. I also wish that there were more flat spaces for our toiletries, as the bathroom is delightfully large. We had a little problem with our key card Sunday night, but it was easily rectified.

posted by VeggieTart on Jul 22, 2002Read More...

Surprised

Rating: 9

On a friends recommendation I stayed at the Hotel Wolcott. I was pleasantly surprised when I checked in. The lobby was beautiful and big.I was expecting a old run down property because the rate was so low ( I have heard horror stories about low priced hotels in New York). As for the rooms they were clean and comfortable. The staff was freindly and helpful. My overall stay was great and I definitely will recommend this hotel to others

posted by BudForty on Jul 12, 2002Read More...

Clean Value

Rating: 10

This hotel was very clean, great location, free coffee and muffins in the morning. I steal at $99 per night

posted by biglou on Jun 1, 2002Read More...

Great view of Empire State Building

Rating: 8

We recently stayed at Hotel Wolcott for one week. The clean, comfortable room had two twin beds and a nice bathroom. It was definitely big enough for two people. The best part was the view. Our room was on the 12th floor and had a great view of the Empire State Building. If you stay at the Wolcott, I would request a room facing the front on one of the top floors. On the negative side, you can't control the heat in the rooms and the hotel is not located in the best neighborhood at night. But I would recommend it to others and would stay there again.

posted by angiek on May 25, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .