Hotel Vitale

JDV Hospitality's first from the ground up venture.

Click here to check prices & availability for Hotel Vitale.

8 Mission St

Partner Reviews: Hotel Vitale

wonderful

Rating: 8

Great service, Comfortable Beds, Great Location and Love the Little details. Hotel is well thought out, service is great and you can not beat the location.

posted by Burns1969 on Jul 19, 2008Read More...

Beautiful Hotel and Location

Rating: 10

My wife came into the City over the Thanksgiving weeked for a "date night." We chose Hotel Vitale after reading about it on Citysearch and were not disappointed. The service was great and we were upgraded to a room with 180 degree views of the Bay! What a surprise. The room was spacious, spotless and of couse the view from the Ferry Building to the Bay Bridge. Check out the roof while you are staying there as well. We'd be back for sure.

posted by mark on Nov 26, 2007Read More...

Enjoyed my stay

Rating: 8

Hotel Vitale is a great place to say. Maybe they have one employee who is rude? Which hotel doesn't? I read what the author said, "emotional violence", what a ninny, grow up, and have a whiskey. As for the hotel: the beds are nice and clean, and the staff is a bit distant, but this is on Mission so they have lots of nutjobs out and about so take the time to get to know them, like you should do at any hotel, or any new environment; the more intrest you take in other, the more they will in you. Simple, really.

posted by donnyraymond2 on Aug 12, 2007Read More...

Don't support this prejudiced hotel

Rating: 2

I am so glad I found out about the incident whereupon the prejudiced Hotel Manager ignorantly demanded that N'gugi wa Thiong'o leave the premises of this Hotel. This blatant display of racism is despicable and I'm so grateful didn't book my vacation at this hotel! It's very sad that websites continue to recommend it thusly despite this appalling information.

posted by tntcon on Jul 31, 2007Read More...

Quality of Service Varies

Rating: 2

Just so you know, on Nov. 10 2006 NYU literature professor and author N'gugi wa Thiong'o was staying at this hotel while on tour promoting his new Random House novel when a hotel staffer ordered him to leave the premises, even after he protested that he was a registered guest (and a rather esteemed one at that). There are several news articles about the incident, which are easy to find.

posted by jonelvisburrows on May 7, 2007Read More...

Hotel Vitale is a classic.

Rating: 10

I will start off by telling you that I stayed in one of their suites. I found that the room was beautifully lit and decorated with simple furniture yet it was very stylish. The room had a spacious bathroom, a dining table that could fit five, a couch that could fold out into a bed, wireless internet, a desk with drawers, a chair to sit comfortably at the desk, a flat screen televsion, a nice bedside Clock CD/Radio that played "White noise" if you need to relax, and a KING bed. The room was very well kept. The hotel offers beautiful views of the Port of San Francisco and the Bay Bridge. It is right along the Embarcadero so entertainment and Fisherman's Warf are very close. You can even venture onto the roof top where there is grass and chairs to admire the scenes of San Francicso. I do admit that the room service menu is limited, but I order the freshly made chocolate chip cookie and milk and I was very satified. In all I had a good experience at this hotel and would definitely go back.

posted by jblack415 on Dec 7, 2006Read More...

Ruined Vacation

Rating: 2

The hotel is noisy, because it is next to the Embarcadero (a six lane highway). After requesting a quiet room, I was put next to the elevator and the electrical equipment. Every ten minutes there was a grinding sound and the room vibrated. The staff knew about this because there was a "white noise" machine by the bed. After 2 sleepless nights, they said I could move but that "check in is at 3pm." I had booked an 11 night stay, and their bad attitude and service was sort of shocking. After all this, they put a bogus charge on my bill. Room service is extremely expensive and limited. The rooms are quite small with almost no storage space. The neighborhood is really boring, and dead on the weekends. I love SF, and you can do so much better. I thought I'd try a new place out--but never again with Hotel Vitale.

posted by thebam on Aug 9, 2006Read More...

Wonderful Experience!

Rating: 10

Hotel Vitale is superb! I visited from Chicago and never have I had better service, or met a more welcoming staff. The hotel iteself is modern, chic, and in great taste. However, the service just simply cannot be beat. When I come back to town, I will check-in again to Hotel Vitale!

posted by rtomb on Jun 13, 2006Read More...

Best In-House Hotel Restaurant and Bath Amenities

Rating: 10

This is by far the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in--not just the sort of fast cleaning most hotels seem to excel in. Not only that, but ...

posted by Citysearch User on Jan 21, 2006Read More...

Barely feels like a hotel

Rating: 10

After proposing to my fiancee in SF, we stayed here for the night to celebrate. The rooms are spacious, well-decorated, clean, extremely comfortable and come with a flat-screen TV. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The bathroom is huge and had a rainforest-type showerhead. The hotel has only been open for about 8 months, so everything is very modern. Check out the spa and terrace on the roof for a nice view. Parking is $42+tax/day, so we actually just parked at the Embarcadero Center, which is very close for $28/night. Ferry Building is right across the street for a nice brunch. Outstanding front desk service as well, everyone we passed greeted us on the way in. Compared to the other top-tier hotels in SF (Four Seasons, etc.) definitely a better-priced option (rooms start around $239)

posted by woodseyluv on Nov 11, 2005Read More...

Spa, large tub w/ views, outdoor terraces..

Rating: 10

Just spent the weekend at Hotel Vitale for a short fun weekend with a friend...we both had a blast and enjoyed ourselves in the surprisingly good Americano restaurant. They tucked us away in the back corner for xtra privacy which was perfect for us as we got tipsy on champagne and martinis. In between waiting for our courses, we slipped to the patio area and enjoyed the incredible views of the Bay Bridge...after dinner we walked across the street to the Ferry Building so the location was excellent. And finally, our room had a soaking tub big enough for 2 ;) also with beautiful views... **hint, ask for a corner room on the top floor.

posted by nips on Sep 19, 2005Read More...

Fabulous CA modern style, lux beds & bath

Rating: 10

Despite the nondescript exterior, this is a great hotel! The staff was friendly & accomodating at check-in. We had the mushroom & truffle pizza at the Americana and it was very good - a thin crust, fresh ingredients and that wonderful truffle oil. For $14, we got a 9" pie with 6 slices. The rooms were well dressed and the beds were scrumptous! Down pillows, comforter and enough pillows to make just about anyone happy. We stayed there for a ladies night out and all of us were happy with the rooms. The bathrooms were spacious enough and came with complimentary Fresh Lemon bath products. Reason alone to go there! Ask for extras to take home. Unfortunately, we believe the rate we got was a special - only $140 for a superior queen room with a partial view of bridge/water. But we'll all be back :)

posted by catkuo on May 1, 2005Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .