Hotel Pennsylvania

From the hotel:

The Pennsylvania Hotel is a large, moderately priced property, located on 7th Avenue, spanning the entire block between 32nd and 33rd Streets. Situated in the Garment District of Midtown Manhattan, this hotel is across the street from Madison Square Garden, Penn Station and 4 blocks to The Jacob Javits Convention Center.



Click here to check prices & availability for Hotel Pennsylvania.

401 7th Ave

Partner Reviews: Hotel Pennsylvania

Hands down the most disgusting hotel i have ever stayed

Rating: 2

This is easily the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed. I wanted something close to Madison Square Garden. I didn't need anything fancy. However, I was not prepared for this awful hotel. The window had hand prints, the mirrow was rusted, the bathroom door looked like a large dog had chewed on it for hours, the tile in the shower was falling off, the bottom of the shower was black with mildew, the air vent was dirty, the outlet plate was broken. When I complained to them they said "Our hotel is old." I tried to help them understand that age had nothing to do with it. It was FILTHY. I'd love to post actual pictures as opposed to the ones on their site. I wouldn't stay there again if it was free. If you are dumb enough to stay there at least make sure you have had all of your shots first.

posted by themindhealer on Jul 17, 2009Read More...

Hotel Pennsylvania is extremely convenient

Rating: 8

This place is at the heart of New York. It is one place where you can be sure to get a room, any time of the year. It is also helpful to sta...

posted by Citysearch User on Jul 17, 2009Read More...

The price is right

Rating: 8

This is a hidden treasure in the center of Manhattan. The rooms aren't fancy but theyre clean and very reasonably priced. If you visiting ...

posted by Citysearch User on Nov 28, 2008Read More...

Are you kidding me!?!?!?!

Rating: 2

So, I was out of town for a month and my boyfriend wanted to welcome me back with a nice quiet, fun night in a hotel. This place is a joke, the lobby is beautiful but besides that it's a dump. Once we walked in my boyfriend's excited expression turned to a redfaced frown. The bed was as hard as a rock, the view was terrible the paint was chipped, the water was brown when I first turned it on. The cleaning staff kept banging on our door because there wasn't a Do Not Disturb sign, They made a lot of noise outside our door, conversing and what not. You know I'm so over Manhattan trying to make things seem so nice because its in Manhatttan, this place was a joke. My boyfriend was mad because he planned a nice night. We went to St. Marks hotel one night and it was way nicer than this place. Save your money!!!! Or ask to sleep in the lobby!!!

posted by jaycee23 on Oct 30, 2008Read More...

For the Budget Traveler!

Rating: 8

You truly cannot beat $150/night for this hotel. It is not the Four Seasons or the W but it will do. I stay here every time I visit NYC which is about 3-4 times a year. It is in the center of it all. With Penn Station and Madison Square Garden across the street to watch those basketball games. One time I stayed here and we had to share a twin bed. But when I went back I had a larger room, queen bed and a mini-fridge. It's just a toss up on what room you get. I will be staying there again in 2weeks.

posted by kristinetdb on Aug 9, 2006Read More...

Horrible.

Rating: 4

My stay here was horrible. Even though I was paying $150/night it felt like I was in a closet with a matress in it. The rooms feel like they have 50 square feet in them! After making my reservation, I read reviews and wanted to change hotels but they insisted that my stay would be perfect-WRONG! The lines are long and you cant reach housekeeping, the front desk, or anywhere else from the room telephone. I was about to die! The only good thing was that there was a buisness center down the hall from me in which I got to watch tv and make myself a good cup of coffee in. NOT RECOMMENDED!

posted by supermodeldior on Aug 26, 2005Read More...

Don't Expect Much More than a Place to Sleep

Rating: 4

I realize it wasn't the priciest room in Manhattan, but what I got looked like a low-end motel room, or a closet with a bed in it. Hotel lobby and entrance is beautiful, but the rooms themselves are sub-par. The bathroom was small but looked clean. The bed was ugly, the furniture was unattractive...the kind of place you'd pay about 45 bucks a night for if it wasn't for the fact that you were in New York. If it's in any way worth it, it's for the prime location and attractive EXTERIOR, but not much else.

posted by thelethalkitten on May 30, 2005Read More...

Terrible!!

Rating: 2

Our room was gross- stains on the carpet and the drapes (the drapes?!), patches of wallpaper off the walls, funny smelling sheets. Yes, it's convenient, and yes, it's less expensive than most other NYC hotels, but I'll go elsewhere next time- in fact, we checked out after one night and went somewhere else. When we told the guy at the front desk why, he said it's been happenning all the time since a new, foreign company purchased the hotel a few years ago. The lobby is very deceiving! This hotel is terrible.

posted by heatheru on Apr 21, 2004Read More...

hangout,no vacation

Rating: 6

I have stayed here twice the first time I was given a room that was already occupied by guests. The door key given to me was working and allowed me access to the room after 2 hours of debate with the front desk I was given another room which was nice and well worth my dollars. The staff here however (most of the staff not all) would do well to take a extensive course in customer service, yet the location is the best feature to this hotel as well as the price. If you plan to see new york you're at the right place. shop, eat, drink, hang out, then back to the hotel to sleep is my advice but if your planning to make this living quarters go elsewhere, the staff is not condusive to an extended "vacation " stay.

posted by missdee71601 on Feb 19, 2004Read More...

NY hotel Penn

Rating: 6

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and the place was clean. Although I called at 6am for a hair dryer and did not have it until 8am. The maid service had to be called up twice to make-up our room and give fresh towels. This place is about location, reasonable price and a place to sleep. No extras. Just ask when you book the room for the renovated rooms.

posted by genine810 on May 20, 2003Read More...

Major Health Concern

Rating: 1

This hotel was absolutely disgusting. The room was dirty and looked like it hadn't been cleaned. Most disturbing was the hair on the floor. Then, the hotel management refused to do anything about. They just kept insisting that all rooms are cleaned before guests stay there. Don't stay there unless you want to have to visit the dermatologist!

posted by moi2003 on Jan 9, 2003Read More...

SPEND YOUR $$ ELSEWHERE

Rating: 1

This is the worst hotel room I have ever experienced. There are too many deficiencies to list all but here are a few: moldy ceilings, stuck window-open in November!, dirty carpet, no clothing storage, the SMELL, disgusting stained bed frames, peeling paint, ..... This place was horrid. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE!

posted by rbbjpb on Jan 2, 2003Read More...

"Fleabag Inn"

Rating: 1

Have never stayed in such a run down hotel. Regardless of ratings, you couldn't pay me to stay there again. All other hotels were booked in the area, otherwise we'd have gone elsewhere. I was embarrased for my wife and daughter as well. Even told the desk manager that he'd be too embarrassed to have his own mother stay there, and that those types of rooms shouldn't be open to the public. Had mold all over bathroom ceiling (we took pictures!); paint peeling from bedroom wall over beds; hole in wall under desk; NO dresser in room. A First Class Pig Sty!!

posted by hockeyfans on Jan 2, 2003Read More...

What a facade!

Rating: 2

Newly renovated? I think not! The location was great but don't be fooled by the building's exterior or the main lobby. The rooms were small and really old and musty. The bathrooms were dirty. The cleaning staff and the bell captain staff were friendly enough but the front desk staff and the theatre events desk both need a lesson in customer service. You certainly get what you pay for at this hotel! My advice: while planning your trip, invest an extra couple of $100s in a DECENT hotel, even if it's only to sleep...

posted by Becky_Bloomwood on Dec 2, 2002Read More...

BEWARE!!!

Rating: 1

THIS PLACE WAS TERRIBLE. THE LOBBY IS DECEIVING WHEN YOU FIRST GO IN, BUT ONCE YOU GET UP TO YOUR ROOM. STAINS ON CARPET, BURNS, NO AIR CONDITIONING, THE WINDOW WAS TOO HARD TO OPEN, NO WATER PRESSURE, DIRTY TUB. JUST WAY TOO MUCH TO MENTION. THE ONLY POSITIVE THINGS ARE, LOCATION AND THE MAID SERVICE. THEY CAME EVERYDAY AND WERE VERY PLEASEANT. THE PLACE IS CREEPY. YOU GET EXACTLY WHAT YOU PAY FOR. WE HAD NOTHING IN OUR ROOM. NO FRIDGE, NO IRON, NO ASHTRAYS ( SMOKING ROOM), NO BLINDS, TO ICE BUCKET, NOTHING. WE HAD TO ASK FOR EVERYTHING! IF YOU DON'T HAVE TO STAY HERE, DON'T!!!

posted by SRAMSEY29 on Nov 13, 2002Read More...

A Dive

Rating: 5

Public space looks great and modern. Staff perky and knowledgeable, including bell & registration, entertainment desk, in hotel restaurants. Perfectly located for shopping, touring, eating. Private space was a disappointment. Old, no tub, cramped, no view. Good thing I wasn't in the room much.

posted by puryearn on Nov 5, 2002Read More...

Location Location Location

Rating: 7

This is no luxury hotel, but who needs luxury hotels when you're seldom in your room? This hotel is located across the street from Macy's, Madison Square Garden, and, most importantly, Penn Station. It's a snap to get anywhere you want to go and back again. The lobby is gorgeous and makes you feel good just walking through it. Our room was adequate and clean, with plenty of hot water, etc. We ended up getting it for a song through Expedia, and will probably stay there again.

posted by gingerg on Oct 28, 2002Read More...

Stay far, far away from this hotel!

Rating: 1

I booked a room here thru an online travel agency. The photos of the rooms looked nice, and the price was affordable. Walk into the lobby and it's beautiful. A picture of a bustling hotel in NYC. Then you get to your floor. You notice the stains on the floor. The decrepit doors. You walk into your room and notice the musty odor, cracking and peeling ceiling. The holes near the floorboard, ancient furniture and garish curtains and beds. Nightmare. I complained and was given another room on the *same* floor. I complained again, this time to the "mananager" who chuckled knowingly when I complained about my previous 2 rooms. I was finally given a "renovated" room. They say they're renovating on a sign, but when I asked the woman at the front desk she said "oh it's always like that, we're not renovating". STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS ONE!

posted by zootgirl on Oct 14, 2002Read More...

Stay Away From This One

Rating: 1

The hotel claims to have done a renovation, but I wonder what century they did this in. The rooms have some sort of a "spartan" theme going on. The walls are paper thin, and the escapades of your neighbors are quite entertaining. The halls are dark and scary. I would call this the Hotel Transylvania.

posted by Hollygolightly on Aug 29, 2002Read More...

Wonderful place to stay

Rating: 10

This was the best choice I ever made in hotels. We were upgraded to a bigger room for free. Everyone was very friendly. The rooms were spacious. We had no problem with the TV for as little as we used it. Very conveniently located next to Penn Station, several subway lines, Macy's, the Empire State Building, the Theater District. For $4 we could leave our bags after we checked out so we wouldn't have to drag them all over the city with us. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

posted by graphicschick on Aug 21, 2002Read More...

Please read before reserving a room...

Rating: 1

Terrible is putting it mildly. Checking in there were only 4 people helping 60 people waiting in line to check-in. The tv didn't work. there was no hairdryer. When I called for the iron (which was unavailable for 2 days), they told me not to ask for towels either. The hotel manager said that housekeeping issues were the responsibility of the housekeeping manager which would return on Monday. They charged $4/bag to store our bag in the luggage room which you have to stand in the checkout line to get a ticket. Bell captain took 30 minutes retrieving the bag out of the luggage room at the end of the day. Need I say more? If you were to stay at this hotel for free it wouldn't be even worth it if i have to bring my own iron, tv, hairdryer, towels and my $4 to store my bags.

posted by spla on Aug 7, 2002Read More...

WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!

Rating: 1

Had the worst experience @ this hotel. Changed our room about 7 times our 1st night in NY because the hotel that was said to have been renovated was in the process of being renovated. 1 of the rooms we went into had a wall missing in the bathroom. Apparently they thought this was suitable 4 guests. The room smelled like a restroom in a sports arena, we were disgusted to sleep in the beds and had the worst experience with the staff that couldn't seem to find a room worth the $120 we were paying a night. If you have any sense, don't ever stay @ this hotel, I would have rather paid more than stay @ this 1 star motel dump. Too bad there isn't a negative 10 rating. There are 2 listings 4 this hotel on the site, make sure you read all of them.

posted by Lolita25 on Aug 1, 2002Read More...

Great Price

Rating: 8

I checked in. Large lobby, lots of stone, a little bit crowded, but the lines were moving fast. The elevators were brand new very fast. We stayed on the twelfth floor, room 1218. Large room, new carpeting, new furniture, large TV. Very comfortable king size bed, with big pillows. No street noise, surprising for Manhattan. Check out line was long, we just left, the bill was sent to us. No errors. Booked on line and paid only $119. An incredible price for what we got. It's not the Ritz, but at the price, you can't beat it.

posted by Lawrence_Miller on Jul 31, 2002Read More...

6

Rating: 5

Great location to explore Manhatten..reasonable price with package deal.......Had a nice view in a corner room.....room was clean....check in line was absurd (only 3 employees manning the desk with a big conference group checking in and we were not with the group!).... hotel restaurant was SOOOOOOO overpriced, old and did not appear clean..but plenty of other places close! If your reason for being in NYC is the hotel experience....select another!

posted by Joanmclendon on Jul 9, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .