Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Click here to check prices & availability for Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel.

225 N Wabash Ave

Partner Reviews: Hotel Monaco Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Wow! Just Wow! What a view, what a place!

Rating: 10

My wife and son and I stayed at the Kimpton Monaco for four nights in a small suite overlooking the river. What an incredible view! The rooms are the usual funky Kimpton gorgeous with outstanding service. We usually buy our own drinks at a local store in order not to spend a fortune on vending or the wet bar. Our maid noticed and after our second night left a bottle of our favorite soda and note thanking us for staying! The staff is very friendly and helpful and the beds are "oh, so comfortable." Our son loved the river views and actually ended up sleeping in one of the large window boxes overlooking the city. The hotel is just across the street from the river and one block from the El loop and the red train station. The Chicago theater is just a block away too! It is just the perfect place to stay in this magnificent city!

posted by Rogenea on Aug 12, 2008Read More...

Awesome Hotel

Rating: 10

This hotel was beautiful. I loved the way the suites were decorated. Also, the views from the window seats were beautiful. It's a very cozy ...

posted by Citysearch User on Jan 26, 2008Read More...

Neighborhood

Rating: 8

Architecture writers have described this location as Chicago's finest corner...with views of the River, the Wrigley Building, Marina City, the River skyline and on and on. The window seats are incredible for watching, napping or sleeping overnight. Be aware that people who work in the office building across Wabash Avenue (about 70 feet away) can and do observe the goings-on in the rooms -- and that some hotel guests do oblige them with ... let's just say ... "shows."

posted by glim on Jan 20, 2006Read More...

Great boutique hotel.

Rating: 10

Hotel Monaco is a great place to stay in Chicago. Great location 1 block from Michigan Ave right off Wacker and a short walk to tons of restaurants, bars and sights. Rooms decorated is a bright and exciting color scheme making it different from your usual hotel.

posted by dweebe on Aug 9, 2004Read More...

Romantic Weekend

Rating: 10

My wife and I spent 2 nights at Hotel Monaco. The service was execellent and on time for room service meals. The view of the Chicago River from the corner suite was great, especially when they turned in green for St. Patrick's Day.

posted by danielhillard on Mar 16, 2004Read More...

Good Hotel Service needs Improvement

Rating: 9

My girlfriends and me stayed in the Mediterranean suite for our 4th anniversary. The good things were: The hotel location and the room decor were perfect. Windows were you can sit and enjoy the city. The bed is excellent and the jacuzzai is huge. The negatives were: Our room was on the 3rd floor with offices across the street, so anyone looking out there window can see directly into your hotel room. By that I mean they can see your bed in the room and into your bathroom if you leave the door or curtains open. I asked for the much heard about goldfish that never arrived. As we were checking out I noticed the bellboy load our bags into someone elses car. Fortunately I was able to catch the mistake and let him know in time. He offered me no apology and said, "Arent you with the Grace party?"

posted by shehzad on Oct 13, 2003Read More...

UNACCEPTABLE

Rating: 5

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, and this is probably the worst service that I've ever experienced. The staff was unaccomodating and the hotel did not provide the services that it claimed it would. I decided to try the Monaco because it seemed interesting, was close to the theater, and had what seemed to be a good rate. What a huge mistake. The front desk staff was condescending and not even remotely helpful. The room was NOT clean, the gold fish we had requested came HOURS after we told them we would be arriving, they never bothered to come turn down the beds, and the late check-out "priviledges" which were GUARENTEED when I booked the room suddenly became "upon request" - boy the extra 30 minutes they gave me sure were helpful. Dont' waste your time or your money here. At best, it's nothing special.

posted by ess8duke on Jul 28, 2003Read More...

BRICK WALL

Rating: 7

I flew into Chicago with my girl friend for valentines day 2003, and Hotel Monaco was recomended to me, so I tried it out. I asked for a high room with a river view, I got a solid brick walled building 40' away, terrible. This hotel was average, not bad, just average.

posted by cressb on Feb 28, 2003Read More...

Star treatment for everyone!

Rating: 10

My friend and I stayed at the Monaco during a weekend shopping trip last spring. The charming rooms and wonderful location convinced us to return for another weekend this summer. Although there were a few snotty staff members, most of them were kind and treated us like celebrities. We even had "room service" sent to the lobby at 2 am. Warning: the beds are so comfortable that you may not want to get out of them...EVER! This is an A+ hotel.

posted by RC2002 on Jan 4, 2003Read More...

Romance in the heart of Chicago

Rating: 9

Without a doubt, one of the finest hotels for incurable romantics is the Hotel Monaco. The Lobby is exquisitely decorated in opulence and style. There is a cozy living room fireplace in the Lounge area that features wine tasting daily from 5-6pm. The rooms are just incredible. My room had a soft pad that you could use as a window seat. This place is absolutely fantastic and I would recommend this place to everyone.

posted by tcline88 on Dec 4, 2002Read More...

A nice play to stay

Rating: 9

My fiance and I stayed here, and we definatly enjoyed it! The rooms were clean and very comfortable, and I loved the fact that we got robes even in a standard room! The service was also wonderful!!

posted by AnnaAradia2769 on Nov 20, 2002Read More...

Not for the honeymoon

Rating: 6

Hotel Monaco has great charm but should not be your destination for your wedding night. Although the suites are beautiful especially the goldfish the special treatment that you expect on that special night was lacking.

posted by Jejeva on Oct 18, 2002Read More...

Where's my fish?

Rating: 8

Room was excellent, however I asked twice for my fish and it was never delivered. Hotel restaurant and bar was dead and closed early. Came back at 10:00 on Saturday night and wanted a nightcap, but already closed.

posted by superoger_2000 on Oct 2, 2002Read More...

hop, skip, and jump

Rating: 9

Hotel monaco was a fantastic place to stay while visiting chicago. My wife and I enjoyed the walks to the shops on Michigan Ave and the art institute. The room was very nice and I loved the goldfish that kept us company during our stay.

posted by flesch7 on Aug 4, 2002Read More...

Comfy & Hip

Rating: 9

The suites at the Hotel Monaco are fantastic. There are huge windowsills that are perfect for lounging and watching the city go by. Also, they bring you a goldfish bowl with a goldfish to keep you company during your stay. Though I live in Chicago, it's particularly fun to throw a small party or getaway at the Hotel Monaco.

posted by fayth on Aug 1, 2002Read More...

Mon Ami, MonAco

Rating: 9

Even though the Wacker Drive construction might drive you wacky, taking refuge in the Hotel Monaco was a certain delight. My wife and I were there just a week ago and can't wait 'til we return for another Chicago visit. The decor is fantastic and the little touches by the staff (finding pixie stix and the bed turned down, TV tuned in to the "relaxation" channel after returning from a concert) made our stay very enjoyable and added to the romantic/fun ambience for sure.

posted by kstanosz on Jul 23, 2002Read More...

Leisurely Travel

Rating: 8

Hotel Monaca makes leisurely travel easy. On a recent trip to Chicago I ended up staying in one of their suites overlooking the river that runs through the middle of Chicago. The room was very spacious and decorated with bright and comfortable colors. The price for the rooms was reasonable because of a special promotion they had running in July but beware of hidden cost such as parking and room service. The location is in the heart of the business district and travel through the city from their location is easy and affordable.

posted by Jason on Jul 16, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .