Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Click here to check prices & availability for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel.

1075 Sutter St

Partner Reviews: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre Boutique Hotel

Hotel Carlton

Rating: 10

Myself and a friend stayed at The Carlton for 2 nights in mid- December 08, and after a long flight from London, we were of course very tire...

posted by Citysearch User on Feb 27, 2009Read More...

Very nice hotel with nice service

Rating: 8

I am surprised by the quality of the rooms comfortable and reasonable. The front desk staff were friendliest, helpful people I've ever come across. The property (Hotel) is clean and tidy. The hotel also has a cute restaurant and a computer with internet access, which is very convenient. Service was wonderful, everyone very helpful and friendly. Wine in the lobby every evening is wonderful. Nice opportunity to walk around in neighborhood to discover what it's like to live in San Francisco. It is such a place you will find something different everytime

posted by bscsamson on Oct 28, 2008Read More...

My Favorite Hotel

Rating: 10

I love this place! The staff is incredible, the rates are amazing and the wine in the lobby every evening is wonderful. I do not have enough words to describe my fondness for this hotel. I will put up all of my out of town guest here and rest assured they will get the royal treatment for a reasonable price. I almost wanted to pay them more for my stay. Oh and they welcomed my little furry companion and gave her treats!

posted by ksjjj on Sep 3, 2008Read More...

Friendly staff, clean hotel, good price

Rating: 10

clean, safe, nice hotel. Small with a very friendly staff, quaint lobby and clean rooms with good bedding. Great price or the value.

posted by Julia Childs on Apr 15, 2008Read More...

Helpful and friendly staff

Rating: 8

Was there weekend 9/28. Service was wonderful, everyone very helpful and friendly. Received great suggestions from front desk as to what to do/places to eat. Enjoyed the travel decor as well as the wine tasting!! We walked nearly everywhere, from union square to chinatown... Would definitely stay there again :)

posted by jcab77 on Oct 4, 2007Read More...

umbelievable value for the money

Rating: 10

Stayed there 4 nights, and had a great experience every moment we were in the hotel. Price is reasonable, it is CLEAN and comfy. It's a litt...

posted by Citysearch User on Aug 17, 2007Read More...

A great bargain and a nice place to stay

Rating: 8

The Carlton is comfortable, reasonable, quiet and has a great restaurant inside. The staff is friendly and the room I stayed in had a new ceiling fan which was totally quiet, but moved the air around - how wonderful!

posted by cajohnsonssd on Mar 2, 2006Read More...

Hotel Carlton

Rating: 8

Hotel Carlton was recently renovated. The staff here are extremely friendly and polite. Parking was difficult as a parking space was hard to...

posted by Citysearch User on Dec 21, 2005Read More...

More than I could have ever expected

Rating: 10

I decided to book a room for my boyfriend and I because it was inexpensive, but I was completely blown away by how great this hotel is. The front desk staff were some of the friendliest, helpful people I've ever met. They answered every question we threw at them, and their recommendations were top notch. The hotel's decor is breathtaking, and the lobby and room were spotless every day. We missed the wine happy hour, but it's a great service to have included in the already low price. The hotel also has a cute restaurant and a computer with internet access, which is very convenient. I'll definitely be staying here again.

posted by quarkiegirl on Mar 29, 2005Read More...

Pleasantly Surprising

Rating: 8

I was very surprised by the quality of the rooms at the Carlton. I had heard about the renovation and decided to give it a try and was pleasantly surprised. The property is clean, the rooms are comfortable and the price is excellent for a hotel in downtown San Francisco. Appears to be a popular property with international travellers. The staff is friendly and helpful. The only drawback is that the location can sketchy in the evenings and good food options are a few blocks away.

posted by bhebdon on Mar 24, 2005Read More...

Beautifully done

Rating: 10

During our recent trip to San Francisco, we spent one night at the Hotel Carlton. Next time we go, we will spend EVERY night there. The location was great, service exceptional, and the decor was beautifully done. We loved it! Often times hotels look nothing like they do on their websites. This one does. I would give it a 10 out of 10 if you like Boutique Hotels.

posted by marcya23 on Mar 22, 2005Read More...

5 star service! Very clean!

Rating: 8

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Carlton for 2 nights and would definitely stay there again. The service was better than any place I've ever stayed. The gentleman at the front desk was courteous and extremely helpful (especially when I got lost trying to find the hotel). It's an older place, but it only adds to the mystique. The only complaint is that noise from the hallways travels easily because the walls are a thin. If you're looking for all the updated technologies that most new hotels offer, don't stay here. But if you're looking for a nice, clean and inexpensive place to stay for a few nights, I would definitely recommend staying at the Carlton.

posted by dmirsky on May 5, 2003Read More...

A Great Place To Stay

Rating: 8

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Carlton. The room was on the small side, but very clean and nice. We especially enjoyed the wine hour held in the lobby every evening. It was fun to talk to the other guests and have a glass of wne, or two. It's in a great location, a nice walk to Union Square, China Town and for the adventurous, North Beach. We'd definitely stay there again.

posted by the_emperor on Nov 14, 2002Read More...

Wine Happy Hour makes me Happy

Rating: 8

The Carlton is a charming place. At 5 pm, they offer guests a wine happy hour. Usually, a talkative group finds itself chatting and sipping wine in the lobby around that time. Makes it feel a little like a B&B. Our room was small and cute. I liked the elevator with a door that you open yourself - very old school. I found the location to be pretty convenient - but I also enjoy walking. It's a fair distance from North Beach, but not far from China Town or Union Square.

posted by pointpleasant on Oct 30, 2002Read More...

Nice but not great

Rating: 7

There's a lot to like about this hotel: the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, it's affordable and the happy hour (included) was a very nice touch. It fell a little short only in a few areas. The door to our room didn't seal - it had a gap that let light and sound in. There wasn't a fan in the bathroom. Also, the place is a bit far from Chinatown, North Beach, downtown, parks, etc.

posted by johnkari on Jun 26, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .