Grant Plaza Hotel

Click here to check prices & availability for Grant Plaza Hotel.

465 Grant Ave

Partner Reviews: Grant Plaza Hotel

You get what you pay for

Rating: 6

This hotel is super affordable even during peak seasons, but you seriously would get what you pay for. Location is great - walking distance to the train which takes you to and from the airport, union square (do all your shopping), and visitor's center where you get all the maps, hop on the trolley, etc. Cons are there wasn't enough hot water on the first day. The days afterwards were fine but not great. The showerhead seems a bit outdated as the water trickles out like a faucet instead of gushing. My "do not disturb" sign was swiped my from doorknob (not the hotel's fault of course). Not sure about other rooms, but my room had this huge (about 4 feet tall and 3 feet wide) window with no screens and facing a back alley! This place is great for those just need a place to store luggage and sleep while they spend most of the day exploring.

posted by Bezeleeny on Jun 15, 2009Read More...

reasonable

Rating: 6

I think the best thing about this hotel is that they're reasonable. Nothing exciting about the rooms, they are ok. It's a bit outdated. I do...

posted by Citysearch User on Jan 24, 2009Read More...

Good hotel

Rating: 6

This is a comfortable and nice hotel. Very amazing. The room big and with wonderful decoration. The housekeper fantastic. My wife and I enjo...

posted by Citysearch User on Dec 2, 2008Read More...

Terrible experience

Rating: 2

If you want to feel like in one of depressive movies by David Lynch then you surely must visit this hotel. Dark, narrow corridors, peculiar patches on the carpets, specific stench, tiny dark rooms and no windows. What more could you expect? My experience from the second floor was terrible and believe me that I had to escape from this hotel immediately. It is hardly to believe it if you have a look at official webpages of this hotel which are professional but don't reflect the reality!!! I would have never come back to this hotel.

posted by Luis007 on May 14, 2008Read More...

Good value hotel, Nice neighbourhood.

Rating: 10

We came back to stay at this hotel again and found they have replaced all the furniture, which is much cozy than before. The staffs still provide very friendly service and we were upgraded to the top floor rooms since they recognized us as returned guests. We have a good time in China town, and the hotel is only few blocks away from Union Square. We met our friends at the Ritz Carlton Hotel which is just up the street from this hotel. I would recommend this to my friends now that they have new furnishings, it is very good value. The location is also very safe and convenient to every where we want to go.

posted by hollywoodtoo on May 7, 2007Read More...

Best bang for your buck!

Rating: 10

I've stayed in lots of SF hotels, but I always return the Grant Plaza, or the "GP" as me and my friends call it. The location is excellent (right at the Chinatown gate). The rooms are small, but clean, and the staff is helpful. By far, the most attractive thing about the GP is the price: $80/nt for a queen bed. I stayed there for New Years Eve 2005, and a couple of my friends got dbl rooms for $49/nt. That blew me away, and solidified my love for this place. It's not the Ritz, but it's perfect your wallet! They also upgrade returning guests a lot. So if you pay for a dbl, you might get a queen when you arrive. Last thing...it's very close to the alley way at Belden Place which is full of restaurants and a great vodka bar. Good times. Good times.

posted by blackmistressdiva on Nov 2, 2005Read More...

Great location and good service

Rating: 8

My friend's wedding is up at Nob Hill area which is only one blcok from this hotel. Compare with what they are paying for their room, this hotel is of very good value. Very conveninetly located at the Chinatown gate and close to walking to everything. I was staying at one fo the renovated rooms on the top floor. Front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Room is not very big, but well furnished. I will come back and stay here again.

posted by kenhosf on Jun 6, 2005Read More...

frequent flier

Rating: 9

I was very well satisfied with the accommodations at the Grant Plaza Hotel. The location was perfect, the room was clean, the price was reasonable, the service was good. I'll definitely stay there my next trip to San Francisco.

posted by graciebelle on Sep 19, 2002Read More...

Great Value Great Hotel

Rating: 10

Perfect location -near the shopping, just in Chinatown and close to all cablecars, streetcars and buses. Clean, well run and very helpful. We lost a bag and the front desk went to endless touble to help - we got our bag back! Higlhy recommended (we're fussy) and very good value.

posted by uk_visitor on Sep 4, 2002Read More...

i'd let my mom stay in this hotel

Rating: 8

nice place- clean rooms, though smallish; nice service; good price; great location. I had my parents stay here last year, and I would definitely do it again!

posted by alexjb on Jun 12, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .