Delano Hotel

Straight from the Delano's mouth:

Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination.



Click here to check prices & availability for Delano Hotel.

1685 COLLINS AVENUE

Partner Reviews: Delano Hotel

The ultimate luxury hotel in South Beach, we feature a private beach, private poolside cabanas, gorgeous rooms and an unrivaled pool scene. It is a cool haven of relaxation in the middle of one of the world?s most vibrant cities. Book Direct for the best rates and access to all room types.

www.delano-hotel.com

Love, love, love this hotel!

Rating: 10

Being from L.A., it's not easy for a hotel to impress me. But I have to say, none of them compare to the Delano. I absolutely love this place! Every time I'm in Miami, you can find me here. One of the main reasons is that I simply love the decor -- I'm a huge Philippe Starck fan and the design in this place is so quirky, so eclectic, it's design heaven! From the big bear bench in the lobby and Eames rocker to the gyspy-lady chairs and hanging silks that lead to the hotel restaurant, this place is the absolute coolest. Some might say it's already had its heyday, but I say it's become a modern classic. What's more, the bar's mojitos are yummy and the food at the restaurant is consistently good. The little shop is also a hidden gem with all the fashion/culture mags and small selection of edgy fashion.

posted by marpop on Nov 18, 2007Read More...

wasnt impressed

Rating: 2

After staying at the Delano's sister hotel, ShoreClub I was very disappointed in this hotel. Yes, the decor is nice and the pool area is nice but the customer service in my opinion was horrible and it did not compliment the amount of money that I spend in staying there. Me and a couple of my girlfriends stayed for 4 nights around a holiday weekend. Besides the front desk, concierge, bell men and housekeeping the other employees did not make you feel welcome or important, and a few of them were rather rude. It was impossible to get service in a timely fashion around the pool or on the beach. I repeatedly asked for items that were never brought. At the end of my stay I vowed to never come back, I dont believe in spending alot of money and not receiving superior customer service. I would recommend ShoreClub, I loved it! They were very accomodating and I definitely got my money's worth!

posted by elvirah on Jun 23, 2007Read More...

Beautiful pool

Rating: 8

The view is by far the best part of this bar. Due to it's small size, it is near impossible to order a drink on a crowded night. Having been all over the South Beach scene, I am used to long waits and sometimes rude or obnoxious waitstaff. In this case, I only had to endure the long wait. Service was offered with a smile. I agree with a previous posting that this is not a singles bar. This is more of a romantic spot to enjoy with a loved one or throw a private party with friends if you can afford the hefty bill.

posted by damethod on May 20, 2007Read More...

Read This Before Going to the Delano.

Rating: 2

We found the staff to be stand-offish at best and rude at worse. It was as though it was beneath them to accommodate guests properly. For example: my brother and I went to the pool bar to have a drink. At that time, there were four bar staff members mingling behind the bar chatting among themselves with their backs turned to customers. When it was finally convenient for them to stop chit-chatting and to turn around to see if any "guests" were sitting at the bar--upon us asking for a drink--we were told the bar was closed for a private party. At that moment--which was around 5:30 pm--there was no private party going on. Moreover, one would think for $475 a night plus 13% in taxes and fees, the staff would at least pour one drink with the caveat of the impending closure of the bar. But that was of no concern to the bar staff. Later that night--when the Sopranos cast finished their private party--and the pool bar was open, we experienced the brunt of the waitstaff's rudeness. One woman in particular saw absolutely no reason to treat patrons politely, and when scurrying about actually walked direct between my brother and I while we were talking when there was plenty of room around us! When we called her out on it, her response was "don't touch me!" (For the record, she touched us when she brushed by us.) It was obvious--with only a few exceptions--that the waitstaff considered those at the pool bar unworthy of any respect afforded to patrons, let alone actual guests of the hotel--as we were. You've been warned.

posted by gtwilson on May 15, 2007Read More...

Read This Before Staying at the Delano.

Rating: 2

From the moment we entered the lobby, we found the staff to be stand-offish at best and rude at worse. The majority of the staff--valets, front desk, pool staff, bartenders--was basically indifferent to us and to our requests. It was as though it was beneath them to accommodate guests properly. For example: my brother and I went to the pool bar to have a drink. At that time, there were four bar staff members mingling behind the bar chatting among themselves with their backs turned to customers. When it was finally convenient for them to stop chit-chatting and to turn around to see if any "guests" were sitting at the bar--upon us asking for a drink--we were told the bar was closed for a private party. At that moment--which was around 5:30 pm--there was no private party going on. Moreover, one would think for $475 a night plus 13% in taxes and fees, the staff would at least pour one drink with the caveat of the impending closure of the bar. But that was of no concern to the bar staff. Later that night--when the Sopranos cast finished their private party--and the pool bar was open, we experienced the brunt of the waitstaff's rudeness. One woman in particular saw absolutely no reason to treat patrons politely, and when scurrying about actually walked direct between my brother and I while we were talking when there was plenty of room around us! When we called her out on it, her response was "don't touch me!" (For the record, she touched us when she brushed by us.) It was obvious--with only a few exceptions--that the waitstaff considered those at the pool bar unworthy of any respect afforded to patrons, let alone actual guests of the hotel. Examples of fecklessness were shown by the concierge. When asked to put us on "the list" of two hard-to-get-into lounges--Mokai and Mynt, he told me the best he could do was put us down for table service. I informed him I could simply walk up to any lounge and offer to drop $600 on bad vodka and get in. You've been warned.

posted by gtwilson on May 15, 2007Read More...

Great Hotel!!!

Rating: 10

I would rate this hotel on the top of all hotels in South Beach! The service is top notch, the rooms are modern and gorgeous. It's in a great location, close to everything in South Beach. I can't wait to go back!!!!

posted by krislecl on Nov 10, 2006Read More...

Amazing Designer. Philippe Starck...I'm right at HOME

Rating: 10

Philippe Starck has an amazing way of creating a clean, organized, breath of fresh air in his paces. The interior is intriguing, and mystical. The exterior is a grand playground for enjoyment. Chess and other games on the lawn, Cabanas with plush white sofas and 2 story poolside bungalows lining the infinity pool that seems to disapear into the ocean. Outdoor Bar and Grille and a backdoor to the ocean. This is a loungers paradise, especially in the early morning when you have the pool all to yourself to watch the sunrise. South Beach is amazing. The pedestrian/ bicycle path along the beach is devine. We dined at the Blue Door in the evening, with a party of 12, when our Cabana party got cancelled due to the rain. Getting alternative seating took an act of Congress, but once on board, it was a night to remember. The ambiance far surpassed any area of delicacy or service. The food presentation was not in Philippe Starck style, and the menu was highly overated. Lucky for us the champagne was flowing and the guests all had an incredible time. I imagine if the hotel spent a little more effort in the customer service/satisfaction area, they would have many repeat customers who bring in even more business. I've learned these days it is very rare that people follow through with what they say they will do, and at the midnight hour all hell breaks loose. But in the end, the only thing that matters is that we enjoy eachothers company and a good time is had in a nice environment. Although it doesn't hurt when our tummies are filled and satisfied either!!!

posted by fpilgreen on Oct 30, 2006Read More...

I love this Place!

Rating: 10

The food is fantastic and the atmosphere is awesome. The people there take care of you really well, the srvice is great. Everything about it is great!

posted by urgurliggy on Jul 25, 2006Read More...

High Fashion Style

Rating: 8

The Delano is famous for being beautiful and it sure did live up to expectations. The outdoor pool is AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL with cabanas that line the pool equipped with flat screen plasmas. Otherwise, lounge on the beds laid out alongside the pool or SIT in the pool on a unique wrought-iron cafe table and chair set up that is a very clever gimmick. Overall, the Delano is beautiful but, the people there are a bit older and touristy for my taste. I would go with my boyfriend to snuggle in on of the cabanas or a bunch of rowdy girlfriends to liven the place up but, don't go expecting to meet people.

posted by qtgurljny on Jun 9, 2006Read More...

Best in town

Rating: 10

Well worth the money (not anywhere near the $500 the previous review stated - guess he liked to drink too much) Great atmosphere, beautiful location, fun crowd and the best service anywhere on the beach.

posted by dan725 on Apr 6, 2006Read More...

From the Best to the Worst

Rating: 2

We love the Delano; however, recently the Hotel has employed a new policy for their Pool Bar. There now is a $500 minimum to sit in the lounges, whereas before, it was first come first serve. We are not against some kind of minimum; however, it is totally ridiculous that the Delano would charge more to sit in a lounge than to actually eat in their restaurant or sleep in their hotel! In other words my wife and I stayed at the Delano for $400 a night and ate at their restaurant for $350, but they expect us to pay $500 minimum to sit by their pool! Needless to say, those lounges were all empty and with so many other great lounges in Miami, why bother anymore?

posted by spazz27 on Jun 26, 2005Read More...

You get what you pay for.

Rating: 10

I've been to almost all the the Schrager Hotels.... and the Delano is so far the best one. It is very expensive... but is also uber-swanky. Skip the Restaurante... but if you really want to eat there... go to the Sushi Bar. or just chill out and have a drink at the lobby. What else can be said?!? Vogue magazine called it the Coolest Hotel in the USA. And that is very, very true.

posted by fabioazvd on Feb 10, 2005Read More...

Breath-taking

Rating: 8

One of the most well decorated and inviting hotel bars I have ever frequented. The people as well as the ambiance were both beautiful. Although the drinks are pricey, it is worth the money just to experience the most beautiful hotel in South Beach. Check out the pool area as well, it is indescribeable in words.

posted by marecare on Mar 29, 2004Read More...

heaven

Rating: 10

I was in Miami for 5 days and on our last day (monday) we went to Delano. It was one of the most beautiful atmosphere. It had a very laid back and classy appeal. It was a nice ending to a great vacation. I strongly reccomend anyone visiting miami beach to go to Delano and check it out. I guarantee you will love it just as I did. I can't wait to go back.

posted by sweetyeyes on Aug 21, 2003Read More...

You must see this!

Rating: 8

Gorgeous! Excellent food at The Blue Door! Superb service and delicious food with a very comfortable feel. Although pricey, worth every cent if one is trying to impress, without being pretentios. The back bar on the beach is rather snooty-they will serve you a beer on the sand for $8+ in a can...tacky!

posted by joeyinmiami on Nov 13, 2002Read More...

Join the conversation!

Not a member? .